2017 national selections

243 updates so far
Kyiv, Ukraine

In this section you will find information relating to the respective selections of the 43 countries participating in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The 62nd edition of the competition will take place in the capital of Ukraine, Kyiv, on 9th, 11th and 13th May.

Check out our calendar for all national selection dates and live streaming links.

Live story started

Last updated


Tonight Finland has chosen to send Norma John to Kyiv with the song Blackbird. Read the full story of their national final here.


Tomorrow, Saturday 28th January, Finland will choose its song for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The live broadcast of the UMK'17 final, hosted by the one and only Krista Siegfrids, will begin at 20:00 CET (and will last for 2 hrs 15 mins). You can follow the show live in the UMK official site

The grand final evening starts at 19:30 CET with a pre-show hosted by Mikko Silvennoinen and featuring many guests, including the Finnish 2016 Eurovision Song Contest participant Sandhja and one of the special guest performers later in the final, Finnish pop star Jenni Vartiainen. You can also watch the pre-show in the same link by the Finnish broadcaster, YLE.

(Krista Siegfrieds and Mikko Silvennoinen, the hosts of UMK'17)

The ten contestants will perform in the following order:

  1. Emma - Circle Of Light
  2. Alva - Arrows
  3. Günther & D'Sanz - Love Yourself
  4. Anni Saikku - Reach Out For The Sun
  5. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies - Caveman
  6. Norma John - Blackbird
  7. Lauri Yrjölä - Helppo elämä
  8. Club La Persé - My Little World
  9. Zühlke - Perfect Villain
  10. My First Band - Paradise

The UMK 2017 winner, who will go on to represent Finland at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, will be determined by the votes from both the Finnish audience (50%) and a total of ten international juries (50%) from Estonia, France, Iceland, Israel, Latvia, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

There was an online pre-vote which finished yesterday at noon and the result (below) was released last night. The number indicates the percentage of all the pre-votes given. (These pre-votes are only a small percentage of all the votes given during the competition and by no means even indicative):


The date approaches for Finland to choose its representative for the Eurovision Song Contest. #UMK17 will be broadcast live from Espoo Metro Areena on the 28th of January, hosted by Krista Siegfrids, and you'll be able to follow it live at the UMK site.

The 10 contestants have also released preview videos of their participating shows and you can watch them all on this YouTube playlist.

In addition to the contestants, the show will feature as guest stars the Nordic sensation Marcus & Martinus and Finnish superstar Jenni Vartiainen, who returns to stage in UMK after a lenghty break.

The Finnish representative for the Eurovision Song Contest will be chosen based on votes from viewers (given before and during the show) and the votes from international juries during the show, 50% each. Voting is only possible in Finland. Following a tradition from the previous years, the earnings from the voting will be donated to the Nose Day Foundation to be used to help children in developing countries.


Ten acts will take part in the Finnish national selection, UMK'17, broadcaster YLE has revealed. The final of the show will take place on Saturday 28th January. Read more about the line-up here. 

After announcing that Krista Siegfrids will be the host of their national selection now it's time for the Finnish broadcaster, YLE, to announce its participants. The acts that will take part in UMK'17 will be revealed at a press conference tomorrow, Wednesday 23rd of November, starting at 12:00 CET. It will be streamed live on YLE's Eurovision page, and also on UMK's official Facebook and YouTube channel.
For 2017 Finland will only have one huge UMK show taking place on Saturday the 28th of January at the Espoo Metro Areena and, in addition to the 10 contestants that will be announced tomorrow, the show will feature special guests!
There will be 30 minute pre-shows recorded during the rehearsals every day from Thursday to Saturday to be hosted by Mikko Silvennoinen and will include backstage footage and interviews. Music videos will be shot for each contestant. These videos will be online at the official UMK page on December 28th. And from Wednesday afternoon there will be lyric videos from all contestants on the same page as well as on the UMK YouTube channel.
Krista Siegfrids (Finland 2013) will host the Finnish national selection next year, UMK 2017!
In the fun video below you can see Krista's "political" side and, if you can't speak Finnish, we can hint you that there will be only one UMK show next year. That final will take place at Metro Areena in Espoo (next to Helsinki) on the 28th of January. All the proceeds from the televoting during the UMK final will once again go to charity.
The info about the participating artists and songs will be released on the 23rd of November at 12:00 CET.

Krista Siegfrids will host the Finnish national selection next year, UMK 2017