2017 national selections

61 updates so far
Kyiv, Ukraine

In this section you will find information relating to the respective selections of the 43 countries participating in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The 62nd edition of the competition will take place in the capital of Ukraine, Kyiv, on 9th, 11th and 13th May.

Check out our calendar for all national selection dates and live streaming links.

Live story started

Last updated


EMA 2017 participants announced 

Slovenian broadcaster RTVSLO has revealed the names of the acts competing for the right to represent Slovenia in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. 

After seven years, the EMA selection contest, the Slovenian national selection for Eurovision, returns to Ljubljana's Gospodarsko Razstavišče Exhibiton and Conference Centre. All three events will be broadcast live: two preliminary contests on 17th and 18th February 2017, with the final event on Friday 24th February. The Slovenian representative at the Eurovision 2017 contest will be chosen by an expert jury and by the spectators and listeners.

The artists (in alphabetical order)

1st preliminary contest

Amaya (Maja Keuc)

King Foo

Lea Sirk

Nika Zorjan

Omar Naber

Sell Out

Tosca Beat


2nd preliminary contest



Ina Shai

Kataya & Duncan Kamakana

Nuša Drašček


Tim Kores Kori

United Pandaz & Arsello feat. Alex Volasko

Maja Keuc and Omar Naber represented Slovenia in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2011 and 2005 respectively.

About the show

The expert selection jury consists of four members: ManuElla, singer, music author, and this year's Slovenian representative at the Eurovision Song contest; Boštjan Grabnar, musician, music author, and music producer, Jernej Vene, music editor at Val 202, and Aleksander Radić, the EMA – Eurovision Song 2017 project editor. 

At each of the two preliminary rounds, eight songs will be performed. Four songs will qualify for the finals: the two best placed with televoters and the two judged the best by the expert jury. In the final round the best eight songs will be performed.

The winner will be decided by the 6 regional expert juries and televoting. 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12 points will be given to the best six songs by each of the juries, and 12, 24, 36, 48, 60 and 72 points will be given to six best songs according to the televote. The ratio between the televote and the juries is 50/50.

Tickets go on sale on 12th December. For more information visit the official website and follow the official social media networks on Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat (emaevrovizija).