2017 national selections

193 updates so far
Kyiv, Ukraine

In this section you will find information relating to the respective selections of the 43 countries participating in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The 62nd edition of the competition will take place in the capital of Ukraine, Kyiv, on 9th, 11th and 13th May.

Check out our calendar for all national selection dates and live streaming links.

Live story started

Last updated

United Kingdom
United Kingdom

Tonight the United Kingdom has chosen to send Lucie Jones to Kyiv with the song Never Give Up On YouRead the full story of the national final here.

United Kingdom

The six entries competing for the right to represent the United Kingdom in the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest were premiered on The Ken Bruce Show on BBC Radio 2. The songs (in order of how they were played) are:

  • Olivia Garcia Freedom Hearts. 

Written by Gabriel Alares, Sebastian Lestapier, Linnea Nelson and Laurell Barker.

  • Holly Brewer I Wish I Loved You More

Written by Kevin Fisher, Courtney Harrell, Laurell Barker, Mattias Frändå, Johan Åsgärde and Oliver Lundström.

  • Lucie Jones Never Give Up On You

Written by The Treatment, Emmelie de Forest and Lawrie Martin.

  • Danyl Johnson Light Up The World

Written by Dan McAlister, Rick Blaskey, Greg Walker, Chris Sutherland and Ameerah Roelants.

  • Salena Mastroianni with I Don’t Wanna Fight

Written by The Treatment, Nicole Blair and Marli Harwood.

  • Nate Simpson What Are We Made Of

Written by Jon Hällgren, Eric Lumiere and DWB.

You can listen to the songs again on the BBC Eurovision website.

The final of Eurovision: You Decide will take place on Friday 27th January at 20:30 CET and will be hosted by Mel Giedroyc. An expert panel will be on hand to offer their thoughts on how the songs could be made to look and sound on stage in Kyiv.  They are Bruno Tonioli, Sophie Ellis-Bextor and CeCe Sammy.  They will form part of an eight person jury. 

The winner of Eurovision: You Decide 2017 will be decided by a combination of viewer and jury votes. The public can vote for their favourite song via telephone or online via bbc.co.uk/eurovision

Eurovision: You Decide will also feature two special music performances; the first from 2009 winner Alexander Rybak performing his winning song Fairytale, and the second, by British pop rock band, The Vamps performing their song 'All Night’.

United Kingdom

The BBC has unveiled names of the expert panel who will appear in the UK national final, Eurovision: You Decide, which takes place on Friday 27th January:

  • Sophie Ellis Bextor
  • Bruno Tonioli
  • CeCe Sammy

Sophie is a singer who has had a number of hits including Murder on the Dancefloor and Get Over You. Bruno is a professional dancer, best known for his roles as a judge on Strictly Come Dancing in the UK and Dancing with the Stars in the US. CeCe Sammy is a well-known vocal coach who has worked on shows such as The X Factor and The Voice. 

United Kingdom

News from Eurovision: You Decide HQ!

The BBC announced today that the winner of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, Alexander Rybak, will perform on the UK national selection, Eurovision: You Decide, on 27th January at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith, London.

Tickets are available to buy and aren’t geo-locked so fans, anywhere in the world, can get tickets! – go to bbc.co.uk/Eurovision for all the details. 

Eurovision: You Decide will air at 7.30pm on BBC Two. Mel Giedroyc will be presenting live from London’s world-famous Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith and it’s set to be a nail biting night of performances as six songs battle it out for the chance to represent the UK at the Eurovision Song Contest next year in Kyiv. 

The BBC will release the names of more guests in the next few weeks so look out for more announcements soon!

United Kingdom

Tickets for the UK national selection, Eurovision: You Decide, are on sale and for the first time people outside the UK can buy them. More details on the website of the BBC.

United Kingdom
United Kingdom

The United Kingdom is holding a national selection for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest, following the same format used in 2016. As last year, all public entries will be carefully considered and shortlisted by a representative panel of official UK Eurovision Fan Club (OGAE UK) members. At the same time, entries are also being sought from leading professional songwriters, with guidance from Record Industry Executive and Music Consultant for the BBC, Hugh Goldsmith.

Guy Freeman, Editor, BBC Special Events and Formats said, "This is the moment for anyone who passionately believes they've written an outstanding song that could win over the hearts and minds of millions of European TV viewers and professional juries, to go for it and submit their entry". The shortlist and further announcements will be released in the coming months.