Eurovision Song Contest 2016 Grand Final

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest was held in the capital of Sweden, Stockholm. It was the third time that Stockholm hosted the contest and the second time that it was held in the Globe Arena. The right to host the contest came when Måns Zelmerlöw brought home the trophy with his song Heroes from Vienna in 2015. Australia returned to the Eurovision Song Contest, Dami Im finished second with The Sound of Silence. Russia's Sergey Lazarev finished third with his song You Are The Only One. Ukraine's Jamala won the contest with her song 1944, providing Ukraine with its second victory in the Eurovision Song Contest.

Stockholm was announced as the host city in July 2015, with the Globe Arena taking the honour of being the venue for the 2016 contest. The arena previously staged the contest in 2000.

Come Together

The slogan for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest was Come Together. The theme artwork, inspired by the dandelion, symbolised the power of resistance and resilience but also of regeneration – when the seeds fly away from the dandelion new life is created where they touch down.

The Grand Final

26 countries competed in the Grand Final of the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. 10 qualifiers from each of the Semi-Finals, the so-called Big Five as well as hosts Sweden all took to the stage. 2016 saw the biggest change to the voting sequence since 1975. The public and jury votes were presented separately meaning that there was double the amount of points available. In the end the Australia, Russia and Ukraine battled it out for victory. Ukraine's Jamala took the trophy with her song 1944, providing Ukraine with its second victory since 2004.

Facts and figures

  • There was considerable interest in hosting the Eurovision Song Contest in Sweden with several cities bidding for the opportunity including previous host cities Malmö and Gothenburg.
  • Over 204 million watched the live shows in 2016 beating the viewing figures in 2015 by 5 million
  • The Grand Final was broadcast in the United States for the first time
  • Global superstar Justin Timberlake performed in during the interval of the Grand Final
  • For the first time ever Greece and Bosnia & Herzegovina failed to qualify for the Grand Final whilst the Czech Republic qualified for the first time ever
  • During the Grand Final the points from the juries and televotes were presented separately
  • Germany finished last for the second year running whilst Bulgaria achieved its best ever placing in the Grand Final, 4th
  • Australia won the jury vote and Russia won the televote, however Ukraine scored steadily throughout and received the most points overall
  • 1944 is the first song in the history of the Eurovision Song Contest to be performed in Crimean Tatar.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 14 May 2016


Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden


Jamala from Ukraine




Måns Zelmerlöw & Petra Mede

EBU Executive Supervisor

Jon Ola Sand

Executive Producer

Martin Österdahl & Johan Bernhagen


Daniel Jelinek & Robin Hoffwander

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumVRT
Laura Tesoro What's The Pressure
Sanne Putseys, Louis Favre, Ya... Sanne Putseys, Birsen Uçar
181 10
02 Czech Republic
Flag of Czech RepublicČT
Gabriela Gunčíková I Stand
Christian Schneider, Sara Biglert Aidan O'Connor, Sara Biglert
041 25
03 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsAVROTROS
Douwe Bob Slow Down
Douwe Bob Posthuma, Jan-Peter ... Douwe Bob Posthuma, Jan-Peter ...
153 11
04 Azerbaijan
Flag of Azerbaijanİctimai
Samra Miracle
Amir Aly, Jakke "T.I Jakke" Er...
117 17
05 Hungary
Flag of HungaryMTV
Freddie Pioneer
Szabó Zé Borbála Csarnai
108 19
06 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Francesca Michielin No Degree Of Separation
Fabio Gargiulo, Federica Abbat... Francesca Michielin, Federica ...
124 16
07 Israel
Flag of IsraelIBA
Hovi Star Made Of Stars
Doron Medalie
135 14
08 Bulgaria
Flag of BulgariaBNT
Poli Genova If Love Was A Crime
Borislav Milanov, S. Arman, J.... Borislav Milanov, S. Arman, J....
307 04
09 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Frans If I Were Sorry
Frans Jeppsson Wall, Fredrik A...
261 05
10 Germany
Flag of GermanyNDR
Jamie-Lee Ghost
Anna Leyne, Thomas Burchia, Co... Anna Leyne
011 26
11 France
Flag of FranceFrance 2
Amir J'ai cherché
Nazim Khaled, Amir Haddad, Joh... Nazim Khaled, Amir Haddad
257 06
12 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Michał Szpak Color Of Your Life
Andy Palmer Kamil Varen
229 08
13 Australia
Flag of AustraliaSBS
Dami Im Sound Of Silence
DNA (David Musumeci & Anthony ...
511 02
14 Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Minus One Alter Ego
Thomas G:son, Minus One Thomas G:son, MinusOne
096 21
15 Serbia
Flag of SerbiaRTS
Sanja Vučić ZAA Goodbye (Shelter)
Ivana Peters
115 18
16 Lithuania
Flag of LithuaniaLRT
Donny Montell I've Been Waiting for This Night
Jonas Thander, Beatrice Robert...
200 09
17 Croatia
Flag of CroatiaHRT
Nina Kraljić Lighthouse
Andreas Grass & Nikola Paryla
073 23
18 Russia
Flag of RussiaRTR
Sergey Lazarev You Are The Only One
Dimitris Kontopoulos, Philip K... John Ballard, Ralph Charlie
491 03
19 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Barei Say Yay!
Barei, Ruben Villanueva & Vict...
077 22
20 Latvia
Flag of LatviaLTV
Justs Heartbeat
Aminata Savadogo
132 15
21 Ukraine
Flag of UkraineNTU
Jamala 1944
534 01
22 Malta
Flag of MaltaPBS
Ira Losco Walk On Water
Lisa Desmond, Tim Larsson, Tob...
153 12
23 Georgia
Flag of GeorgiaGPB
Nika Kocharov and Young Georgian Lolitaz Midnight Gold
Kote Kalandadze, Thomas G:Son Kote Kalandadze
104 20
24 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
ZOË Loin d'ici
Christof Straub & Zoe Straub
151 13
25 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Joe and Jake You're Not Alone
Matt Schwartz, Justin J Benson...
062 24
26 Armenia
Flag of ArmeniaAMPTV
Iveta Mukuchyan LoveWave
Lilith Navasardyan, Levon Nava... Iveta Mukuchyan, Stephanie Cru...
249 07


Below you can find the total televoting points for each country, as well as the jury results as announced by the spokespersons. Full results for all individual jury members and televoting results per country can be found on the full results page.

Participant Televoting Points  Albania Armenia Australia Austria Azerbaijan Belarus Belgium Bosnia & Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia F.Y.R. Macedonia Finland France Georgia Germany Greece Hungary Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Latvia Lithuania Malta Moldova Montenegro Norway Poland Russia San Marino Serbia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Ukraine United Kingdom Points Place
Belgium Belgium
5141254102841053126535810410 181 10
Czech Republic Czech Republic
0141610325243 41 25
The Netherlands The Netherlands
39342776210746128436451355 153 11
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan
732121171021017 117 17
Hungary Hungary
5614541037123102 108 19
Italy Italy
34810332123681210526 124 16
Israel Israel
11310327525731248261377218763 135 14
Bulgaria Bulgaria
1804788163610101071210283410115 307 4
Sweden Sweden
1398812412125610465286104 261 5
Germany Germany
101 11 26
France France
1091012678787511462387165177856 257 6
Poland Poland
2222311 229 8
Australia Australia
19112512761210812101010886867121010651231041010266812121258 511 2
Cyprus Cyprus
536148152457 96 21
Serbia Serbia
808527652 115 18
Lithuania Lithuania
967151013556513110422827124 200 9
Croatia Croatia
3316418627311 73 23
Russia Russia
361723121256612112874787146 491 3
Spain Spain
106351413541228751 77 22
Latvia Latvia
6318372815763738 132 15
Ukraine Ukraine
32321073121271212721210128124121212126310 534 1
Malta Malta
16281065766254410454312831067 153 12
Georgia Georgia
24107385310856312 104 20
Austria Austria
1205481148 151 13
United Kingdom United Kingdom
854433712682 62 24
Armenia Armenia
13423212482101264751012341242 249 7