Eurovision Song Contest 1970

Once again, the Netherlands hosted the Eurovision Song Contest which took place in the capital of Amsterdam, but only 12 delegations made the trip to the Dutch capital due to what was referred to as "the voting scandal" of the year before.

Where to go?

There were plenty of host countries to choose from because of the four-winner tie - the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, France and Spain - in the preceding year. Eventually, Amsterdam was chosen to host the fifteenth Eurovision Song Contest by the draw of lots. For the second year in a row, the number of participants went down.

Finland, Norway, Sweden and Portugal were very dissatisfied about the voting in the 1969 contest when 4 countries were acclaimed as winners and withdrew from the contest. To avoid a confusing incident like in 1969, a tie rule had been created. The rule stated that if two or more songs gained the same number of points, each song had to be performed once more. After these re-performances, the jury had to select their favorite song (except for the juries of the concerned countries). This had to be done by the showing of hands. If entries still were to tie, both of them would share the first position.

About the winner

Ireland had its first - of many - victories in the history of the Song Contest with Dana's All Kinds Of Everything. The teenager from Derry went on to score a major international hit with her Euro-song.

Facts & figures

  • Brazil, Soviet Union, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Chile broadcast the contest live by satellite;
  • Of the singers who competed on the stage this year a number were already established performers. Notably, the United Kingdom sent Mary Hopkin while David Alexandre Winter represented Luxembourg;
  • The contest also featured an appearance of the then unknown Julio Iglesias, singing for Spain.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 21 March 1970


RAI Congrescentrum, Amsterdam, The Netherlands


Dana from Ireland




Willy Dobbe

Executive Producer

Warner van Kampen

EBU Scrutineer

Clifford Brown


Theo Ordeman

Interval Act

Don de Lurio Dancers

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Patricia and Hearts of Soul Waterman 007 07
02 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Henri Dès Retour 008 04
03 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Gianni Morandi Occhi Di Ragazza 005 08
04 Yugoslavia
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Eva Sršen Pridi, Dala Ti Bom Cvet 004 11
05 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTB
Jean Vallée Viens L'oublier 005 08
06 France
Flag of FranceORTF
Guy Bonnet Marie Blanche 008 04
07 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Mary Hopkin Knock, Knock (who's There?) 026 02
08 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
David-Alexandre Winter Je Suis Tombé Du Ciel 000 12
09 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Julio Iglesias Gwendolyne 008 04
10 Monaco
Flag of MonacoTMC
Dominique Dussault Marlène 005 08
11 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Katja Ebstein Wunder Gibt Es Immer Wieder 012 03
12 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Dana All Kinds Of Everything 032 01


Participant Belgium France Germany Ireland Italy Luxembourg Monaco Spain Switzerland The Netherlands United Kingdom Yugoslavia Points Place
The Netherlands The Netherlands
313 7 7
Switzerland Switzerland
22121 8 4
Italy Italy
221 5 8
Yugoslavia Yugoslavia
4 4 11
Belgium Belgium
311 5 8
France France
3122 8 4
United Kingdom United Kingdom
243224234 26 2
Luxembourg Luxembourg
- 12
Spain Spain
323 8 4
Monaco Monaco
1211 5 8
Germany Germany
213141 12 3
Ireland Ireland
91223654 32 1