Eurovision Song Contest 1993

The tiny town of Millstreet in Ireland was the centre of Europe when it hosted the 1993 Eurovision Song Contest.

Changing times

The 1993 Eurovision Song Contest, held in Millstreet, a small town in South West Ireland, home to 1500 people, was an ambitious production for national broadcaster RTE. The 1993 contest is to date, the only competition in Ireland that has been held outside of the capital Dublin.

The early 1990s were a time of massive change in Europe. These changes were reflected in the Eurovision Song Contest as newly sovereign nations took to the stage. In order to accommodate the growing number of countries eager to participate in the Eurovision Song Contest, a pre-selection,Kvalifikacija za Millstreet, took place in Ljubljana, Slovenia ahead of the contest in which seven countries competed. Three countries made their respective debuts; Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia and Slovenia.

Same story, different cast

The top two in 1993 was exactly the same as the year before; Ireland in first place, the United Kingdom in second. The Irish entry, In Your Eyes performed by Niamh Kavanagh beat the United Kingdom's Sonia on the very last vote.

Facts & figures

  • The idea to stage the Eurovision Song Contest came from local Millstreet businessman Noel C Duggan who offered host broadcaster RTE the venue for free. The Glen Greens Arena, the venue for the 1993 contest, was actually an equestrian centre at the time.
  • To cope with the growing numbers of participating countries, a relegation system was introduced in 1993 meaning that the bottom seven countries would miss out on a place in the contest the following year. However since Italy and Luxembourg withdrew voluntarily, only the bottom five countries missed the 1994 competition.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 15 May 1993


Green Glens Arena, Millstreet, Ireland


Niamh Kavanagh from Ireland




Fionnuala Sweeney

EBU Scrutineer

Christian Clausen


Anita Notaro

Interval Act

Linda Martin and Johnny Logan

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Enrico Ruggeri Sole D'europa
Enrico Ruggeri
045 12
02 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
Burak Aydos, Öztürk Baybora & Serter Esmer Yarim
Burak Aydos
010 21
03 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Münchener Freiheit Viel Zu Weit
Stefan Zauner
018 18
04 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Annie Cotton Moi, Tout Simplement
Christophe Dúc Jean-Jacques Egli
148 03
05 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDR
Tommy Seebach Band Under Stjernerne På Himlen
Tommy Seebach Keld Heick
009 22
06 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Kaiti Garbi Ellada, Hora Tou Fotos
064 09
07 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumBRTN
Barbara Iemand Als Jij
Marc Vliegen Tobana
003 25
08 Malta
Flag of MaltaPBM
William Mangion This Time
William Mangion
069 08
09 Iceland
Flag of IcelandRÚV
Inga þá Veistu Svarið
Jon-Kjell Seljeseth Friðrik Sturlúson
042 13
10 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Tony Wegas Maria Magdalena
Christian Kolonovits, Johann B... Thomas Spitzer
032 14
11 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
Anabela A Cidade Até Ser Dia
Paulo Dacosta, Marco Quelhas, ...
060 10
12 France
Flag of FranceFT2
Patrick Fiori Mama Corsica
François Valéry
121 04
13 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Arvingarna Eloïse
Lasse Holm Gert Lengstrand
089 07
14 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Niamh Kavanagh In Your Eyes
Jimmy Walsh
187 01
15 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Modern Times Donne-moi Une Chance
Patrick Hippert, Jimmy Martin
011 20
16 Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
1X Band Tih Dezeven Dan
Cole Moretti Tomaz Kosec
009 22
17 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Katri-Helena Tule Luo
Matti Puurtinen Jukka Saarinen
020 17
18 Bosnia & Herzegovina
Flag of Bosnia & HerzegovinaRTVBIH
Fazla Sva Bol Svijeta
Dino Dervishalidovic Fahrudin Pecikoza
027 16
19 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Sonia Better The Devil You Know
Dean Collinson, Red
164 02
20 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Ruth Jacott Vrede
Eric van Tijn, Jochem Fluitsma Henk Westbroek
092 06
21 Croatia
Flag of CroatiaHRT
Put Don't Ever Cry
Andrej Basa Dorde Novkovic
031 15
22 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Eva Santamaria Hombres
Carlos Toro
058 11
23 Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Kyriakos Zymboulakis and Demos Van Beke Mi Stamatas
Aristos Moschovakis Rodoula Papalambrianou
017 19
24 Israel
Flag of IsraelIBA
Lakahat Shiru Shiru
Shaike Paikov Yoram Tahar-Lev
004 24
25 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Silje Vige Alle Mine Tankar
Björn-Erik Vige
120 05


Participant Austria Belgium Bosnia & Herzegovina Croatia Cyprus Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Luxembourg Malta Norway Portugal Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey United Kingdom Points Place
Italy Italy
8510710212 45 12
Turkey Turkey
2116 10 21
Germany Germany
34821 18 18
Switzerland Switzerland
6826104121274741012531836810 148 3
Denmark Denmark
531 9 22
Greece Greece
126727267852 64 9
Belgium Belgium
3 3 25
Malta Malta
44415245237244756 69 8
Iceland Iceland
152441225772 42 13
Austria Austria
31231643 32 14
Portugal Portugal
5312812245122121 60 10
France France
7810121381086612484374 121 4
Sweden Sweden
101077871054687 89 7
Ireland Ireland
8286763105635127121261210121210112 187 1
Luxembourg Luxembourg
101 11 20
Slovenia Slovenia
1413 9 22
Finland Finland
85223 20 17
Bosnia & Herzegovina Bosnia & Herzegovina
1433412 27 16
United Kingdom United Kingdom
12123104856612812188710510548 164 2
The Netherlands The Netherlands
37103761263107756 92 6
Croatia Croatia
4645138 31 15
Spain Spain
2567510158126 58 11
Cyprus Cyprus
2105 17 19
Israel Israel
13 4 24
Norway Norway
6712812101210518310610 120 5