Eurovision Song Contest 1957

The 1957 Eurovision Song Contest was held in Frankfurt am Main, Germany after Switzerland declined to host the contest for a second time.

The first gimmicks appear

The 1957 Eurovision Song Contest was hosted by the Hessischer Rundfunk on behalf of Deutsches Fernsehen ARD. Austria, Denmark and the United Kingdom entered the contest for the first time, joining the other seven participating countries from the previous year. Despite the fact that an increasing number of Europeans had access to television, the contest was still mainly a radio programme at this time.

In a change to the contest the year before, duos were allowed into the competition. Danish duo Birthe Wilke and Gustav Winckler shocked the audience with their passionate on-screen kiss, the longest in the history of the contest. Germany's entry, performed by Margot Hielscher featured a telephone during the performance, the first gimmick to appear at the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Netherlands wins

For the first time the Netherlands won the contest with the song Net Als Toen, performed by Corry Brokken who also represented her country in Lugano the year before. Corry went on to present the contest in 1976 and delivered the Dutch votes at the 1997 contest. She passed away in 2016 at the age of 83.

Facts & figures

  • The participating countries were represented by one song each, but the duration of the songs varied. The UK entry lasted for only 1:52 minutes, whereas the Italian lasted for 5:09 minutes. Even though the rules suggested that a song should not exceed three minutes, the Italian entry was not disqualified despite heavy protests. The incident lead to the restriction of each song to last a maximum of three minutes.
  • Unlike the previous year, national juries could not vote for their own song, a rule that still applies today.

Facts & Figures


Sunday 3 March 1957


Großer Sendesaal des Hessischen Rundfunks, Frankfurt am Main, Germany


Corry Brokken from The Netherlands




Anaïd Iplicjian

Interval Act


The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumNIR
Bobbejaan Schoepen Straatdeuntje
Harry Frekin Eric Franssen
005 08
02 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Danièle Dupré Tant De Peine
Jean-Pierre Kemmer Jacques Taber
008 04
03 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Patricia Bredin All
Reynell Wreford Alan Stranks
006 07
04 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Nunzio Gallo Corde Della Mia Chitarra
Mario Ruccione Giuseppi Cavaliere
007 06
05 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Bob Martin Wohin, Kleines Pony
Kurt Svab Hans Werner, Kurt Svab
003 10
06 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNTS
Corry Brokken Net Als Toen
Guus Jansen Willy van Hemert
031 01
07 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Margot Hielscher Telefon, Telefon
Friedrich Meyer Ralph Maria Siegel
008 04
08 France
Flag of FranceRTF
Paule Desjardins La Belle Amour
Guy Lefarge Francis Carco
017 02
09 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDSR
Birthe Wilke and Gustav Winckler Skibet Skal Sejle I Nat
Erik Fiehn Paul Sörensen
010 03
10 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Lys Assia L'enfant Que J'étais
Géo Voumard Emile Gardaz
005 08


Participant Austria Belgium Denmark France Germany Italy Luxembourg Switzerland The Netherlands United Kingdom Points Place
Belgium Belgium
221 5 8
Luxembourg Luxembourg
341 8 4
United Kingdom United Kingdom
11121 6 7
Italy Italy
11122 7 6
Austria Austria
12 3 10
The Netherlands The Netherlands
653411371 31 1
Germany Germany
161 8 4
France France
226412 17 2
Denmark Denmark
352 10 3
Switzerland Switzerland
2111 5 8