Eurovision Song Contest 1980

Israeli TV didn't want to host the 1980 Song Contest again even if they won it the year before on home ground. After a lot of discussions with several European broadcasters it was decided that the contest would be arranged by Dutch TV NOS in The Hague.

The Hague was once more the host city for the song contest after both Israel and the United Kingdom declined to be hosts. Because of the fact that the 1979 winner, Israel, did not have the means of hosting the song contest again, the UK broadcaster BBC was asked if they would be willing to organise the event. They declined, so the Netherlands became the organiser despite the fact that there was not enough time left and Dutch TV NOS had to re-use most of the stage from 1976 when they hosted the contest last. NOS picked April 19th as the date for the song contest, but as this was the Holocaust Memorial Day in Israel, the defending champion decided not to participate which marked the only time when the winner of one Eurovision Song Contest didn't participate in the next.

For the first time in the history of the song contest, an African country - Morocco - participated with Samira, a star in all of the Arabian countries, but when her entry Bitakat Hob ended up at 18th position with just 7 points altogether, Moroccan TV decided that the country should not participate in the contest again. Turkey returned to the contest after one year's absence and Monaco stayed home which meant that the total amount of participating countries amounted to 19 - just as in 1979. Each country brought along a presenter of its own choice along in order to introduce the song in their native language.

The Irish Johnny Logan who would later be called "Mr. Eurovision" secured Ireland's second victory. The Australian-born singer who only became an Irish citizen after he sang for Ireland in the 1980 contest, would later return and win the contest again in 1987. His 1980 victory brought him a number one hit in the UK and numerous television appearances across Europe. What's another year received seven times the maximum of 12 point votes, ending up with 143 points in total.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 19 April 1980


Nederlands Congresgebouw, The Hague, The Netherlands


Johnny Logan from Ireland




Marlous Fluitsma

Interval Act

The Dutch Rhythm Steel and Show Band

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Blue Danube Du Bist Musik 064 08
02 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
Ajda Pekkan Petr'oil 023 15
03 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Anna Vishy and the Epikouri Autostop 030 13
04 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Sophie and Magaly Papa Pingouin 056 09
05 Morocco
Flag of MoroccoRTM
Samira Bensaïd Bitakat Hob 007 18
06 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Alan Sorrenti Non So Che Darei 087 06
07 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDR
Bamses Venner Tænker Altid På Dig 025 14
08 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Tomas Ledin Just Nu! 047 10
09 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Paola Cinéma 104 04
10 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Vesa-Matti Loiri Huilumies 006 19
11 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Sverre Kjellsberg and Mattis Hætta Sámiid Ædnan 015 16
12 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Katja Ebstein Theater 128 02
13 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Prima Donna Love Enough For Two 106 03
14 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
José Cid Um Grande, Grande Amor 071 07
15 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Maggie MacNeal Amsterdam 093 05
16 France
Flag of FranceTF1
Profil Hé, Hé M'sieurs Dames 045 11
17 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Johnny Logan What's Another Year 143 01
18 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Trigo Limpio Qué Date Esta Noche 038 12
19 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Telex Euro-vision 014 17


Participant Austria Belgium Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Ireland Italy Luxembourg Morocco Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey United Kingdom Points Place
Austria Austria
15544110436341436 64 8
Turkey Turkey
3812 23 15
Greece Greece
524214183 30 13
Luxembourg Luxembourg
18437873618 56 9
Morocco Morocco
7 7 18
Italy Italy
21036272221210108164 87 6
Denmark Denmark
754216 25 14
Sweden Sweden
2105106158 47 10
Switzerland Switzerland
628121012357106221027 104 4
Finland Finland
15 6 19
Norway Norway
3642 15 16
Germany Germany
87721051231081257121010 128 2
United Kingdom United Kingdom
761045368878121075 106 3
Portugal Portugal
461615710488254 71 7
The Netherlands The Netherlands
1231012861124533122 93 5
France France
5173213641435 45 11
Ireland Ireland
101212881212171257712612 143 1
Spain Spain
4866527 38 12
Belgium Belgium
3101 14 17