Eurovision Song Contest 1987

Belgian superstar Viktor Laszlo was the host of the 32nd Eurovision Song Contest which was held on 9th May, 1987 in the capital Brussels

Belgium had the honour of hosting the 1987 Eurovision Song Contest for the first time in the country's history. he highest number of participants ever entered this year's song contest: 22 countries found their way to Brussels. Greece and Italy returned to the contest after one year's absence. The 1986 contest was won by a Walloon entry, but in 1987 the Flemish broadcaster, BRT, was responsible for the Belgian entry. BRT also wanted to co-organise the contest, but the Walloon broadcaster, RTBF decided to organise the Eurovision Song Contest 1987 on their own. The presenter of the 3-hour-show was the successful Belgian artist Viktor Laszlo who opened the contest presenting her latest song Breathless.

The winner of the 1987 Eurovision was Hold Me Now performed and written by Johnny Logan, who had already won in 1980 with What's Another Year and had written the second-placed song in 1984 Terminal 3 performed in Luxembourg by Linda Martin. Johnny was the first singer to win the contest twice as a singer, but this would not be his last victory as he won the trophy again as a composer in 1992 when he wrote Why Me by Linda Martin which would win in Malmö.

Germany came second this year with the song Lass die Sonne in dein Herz by the group Wind. For the group, it was already the second silver ranking after being the runner up in 1985. The song still ranks as one of the best-known Eurovision hits in Denmark. Italy sent two internationally-known stars to Eurovision this year: Tozzi & Raf. Raf had written the worldwide hit Self Control three years earlier which was both a hit for him and for the cover-version by Laura Branigan. Although Eurovision statistics show that most male duos do not do well, Italy finished in third place in 1987.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 9 May 1987


Palais de Centenaire, Brussels, Belgium


Johnny Logan from Ireland




Viktor Laszlo

EBU Scrutineer

Frank Naef


Jacques Bourton

Interval Act

Mark Grauwels

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Kate Gulbrandsen Mitt Liv 065 09
02 Israel
Flag of IsraelIBA
Datner and Kushnir Shir Habatlanim 073 08
03 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Gary Lux Nur Noch Gefühl 008 20
04 Iceland
Flag of IcelandRÚV
Halla Margarét Hægt Og Hljótt 028 16
05 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumBRT
Liliane Saint-Pierre Soldiers Of Love 056 11
06 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Lotta Engberg Boogaloo 050 12
07 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Umberto Tozzi and Raf Gente Di Mare 103 03
08 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
Nevada Neste Barco à Vela 015 18
09 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Patricia Kraus No Estás Solo 010 19
10 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
Seyyal Tanner and Lokomotif Sarkim Sevgi üstüne 000 22
11 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Bang Stop! 064 10
12 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Marcha Rechtop In De Wind 083 05
13 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Plastic Bertrand Amour Amour 004 21
14 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Rikki Only The Light 047 13
15 France
Flag of FranceA2F
Christine Minier Les Mots D'amour N'ont Pas De Dimanche 044 14
16 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Wind Laß Die Sonne In Dein Herz 141 02
17 Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Alexia Aspro Mavro 080 07
18 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Vicky Rosti Sata Salamaa 032 15
19 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDR
Anne-Catherine Herdorf and Bandjo En Lille Melodi 083 05
20 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Johnny Logan Hold Me Now 172 01
21 Yugoslavia
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Novi Fosili Ja Sam Za Ples 092 04
22 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Carole Rich Moitié Moitié 026 17


Participant Austria Belgium Cyprus Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Luxembourg Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey United Kingdom Yugoslavia Points Place
Norway Norway
47335472731064 65 9
Israel Israel
167108552104834 73 8
Austria Austria
71 8 20
Iceland Iceland
410644 28 16
Belgium Belgium
353426557484 56 11
Sweden Sweden
1773812372 50 12
Italy Italy
651412312341212178112 103 3
Portugal Portugal
258 15 18
Spain Spain
10 10 19
Turkey Turkey
- 22
Greece Greece
212671876555 64 10
The Netherlands The Netherlands
22212365108510738 83 5
Luxembourg Luxembourg
22 4 21
United Kingdom United Kingdom
53241310135532 47 13
France France
54410512121 44 14
Germany Germany
101061210612784635171106107 141 2
Cyprus Cyprus
1065312686242610 80 7
Finland Finland
1121042381 32 15
Denmark Denmark
788874627183617 83 5
Ireland Ireland
121285121641210881012121210126 172 1
Yugoslavia Yugoslavia
88108221017126612 92 4
Switzerland Switzerland
41213753 26 17