Eurovision Song Contest 1988

The 1988 Eurovision Song Contest saw the arrival of two singers which soon would be known all around the world: Céline Dion and Lara Fabian.

The 1988 Eurovision Song Contest was hosted in Dublin for the third time, and featured one of the most exciting votings in the long history of the contest. Switzerland's entry Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi performed by Céline Dion beat the runner-up, the United Kingdom's Scott Fitzgerald by just a single point. Before the last vote, the UK entry was leading with 136 points to Switzerland's 131 but then Yugoslavia, the last country to vote, gave six points to Switzerland while ignoring the British song Go completely.

For Céline Dion, winning the 1988 Eurovision Song Contest was the starting point of her globe-wide career. Had she only been known in Canada and France before 1988, the Eurovision Song Contest gave her the opportunity to record songs which would sell millions of copies all around the world.

But not only Céline Dion made a huge profit from the 1988 Eurovision Song Contest, also her colleague Lara Fabian who was singing for Luxembourg started a successful career after the contest with a mainly French-sung repertoire.

In 1988, 21 countries participated in the Eurovision Song Contest. Cyprus decided to withdraw because their entry did not match the rules of the contest: it had already been published previously. The venue of the 1988 contest was the same as in 1981, but this time, RTÉ managed to create a very special stage that created the illusion of a spage age-style grid which suggested that it was a huge arena with lots of lighting and special effects. Even nowadays, this set is still praised by experts.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 30 April 1988


Simmonscourt Pavillion, Royal Dublin Society, Dublin, Ireland


Céline Dion from Switzerland




Pat Kenny & Michelle Rocca

EBU Scrutineer

Frank Naef


Declan Lowney

Interval Act

Hothouse Flowers

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Iceland
Flag of IcelandRÚV
Beathoven Sókrates
Sverrir Stormsker
020 16
02 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Tommy Körberg Stad I Ljus
Py Bäckman
052 12
03 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Boulevard Nauravat Silmät Muistetaan
Pepe Willberg Kirsti Willberg
003 20
04 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Scott Fitzgerald Go
Julie Forsyth
136 02
05 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
MFÖ Sufi (hey Ya Hey)
Mazhar Alanson, Fuat Güner an... Mazhar Alanson
037 15
06 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
La Década La Chica Que Yo Quiero (made In Spain)
Enrique Piero Francisco Dondiego
058 11
07 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Gerard Joling Shangri-la
Peter de Wijn
070 09
08 Israel
Flag of IsraelIBA
Yardena Arazi Ben Adam
Boris Dimitshtein Ehud Manor
085 07
09 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Céline Dion Ne Partez Pas Sans Moi
Atilla Sereftug Nella Martinetti
137 01
10 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Jump the Gun Take Him Home
Peter Eades
079 08
11 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Maxi and Chris Garden Lied Für Einen Freund
Ralph Siegel Bernd Meinunger
048 14
12 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Wilfried Lisa Mona Lisa
Wilfried Scheutz, Klaus Kofler...
000 21
13 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDR
Hot Eyes Ka' Du Se Hva' Jeg Sa'
Søren Bundgård Keld Heick
092 03
14 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Aphroditi Fryda Kloun
Dimitris Sakislis
010 17
15 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Karoline Krüger For Vår Jord
Anita Skorgan Erik Hillestad
088 05
16 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Reynaert Laissez Briller Le Soleil
Joseph Reynaerts, Dany Willem Joseph Reynaerts, Philippe Anc...
005 18
17 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Lara Fabian Croire
Jacques Cardona Alain Garcia
090 04
18 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Luca Barbarossa Ti Scrivo
Luca Barbarossa
052 12
19 France
Flag of FranceA2F
Gérard Lenorman Chanteur De Charme
Gérard Lenorman Gérard Lenorman, Claude Lemesle
064 10
20 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
Dora Voltarei
José Calvário, José Niza
005 18
21 Yugoslavia
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Srebrna Krila Mangup
Rajko Dujmic Stevo Cvikic, Rajko Dujmic
087 06


Participant Austria Belgium Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Luxembourg Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey United Kingdom Yugoslavia Points Place
Iceland Iceland
421814 20 16
Sweden Sweden
18351031282 52 12
Finland Finland
3 3 20
United Kingdom United Kingdom
10121010106171012853105512 136 2
Turkey Turkey
68845411 37 15
Spain Spain
861822862654 58 11
The Netherlands The Netherlands
612275127667 70 9
Israel Israel
21061053613510610341 85 7
Switzerland Switzerland
45112107104718128121010106 137 1
Ireland Ireland
6572477512746232 79 8
Germany Germany
6865423158 48 14
Austria Austria
- 21
Denmark Denmark
1274124104610613112 92 3
Greece Greece
73 10 17
Norway Norway
33571758147871210 88 5
Belgium Belgium
5 5 18
Luxembourg Luxembourg
1821224122641012573 90 4
Italy Italy
5882237845 52 12
France France
72333510112232812 64 10
Portugal Portugal
14 5 18
Yugoslavia Yugoslavia
41213412312676278 87 6