Eurovision Song Contest 1992

After having hosted the Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm and Gothenburg before, Swedish TV decided to give the 1992 pop event to the third biggest city in Sweden, Malmö

For the third time after 1975 and 1985, Sweden was the host for the 1992 Eurovision Song Contest because of Carola's close win in 1991. This time, the city of Malmö had the hounour of hosting the contest. A new record of participating countries was set because the Netherlands returned to the contest this year, so 23 countries took part in the 1992 event. The stage in the venue MalmöMässan was a very interesting one as it was set in the shape of a Viking ship's bow with a dragon in the centre and stars on each side.

Switzerland sent Daisy Auvray to the contest in Sweden. Actually, Daisy had only came second in the country's national preselection, but went to Eurovision after the original winner, Géraldine Olivier, was disqualified. German pop titan and Eurovision veteran, Dieter Bohlen participated again this year as the Austrian entry's composer. His working relationship with singer, Tony Wegas, was put under strain however after Bohlen's then girlfriend had problems getting her pet dog into the country and Bohlen became inaccessible. Bohlen re-used the Austrian entry more than 10 years later as the title song of the German edition of Pop Idol. It became a million-seller and was much more successful than Tony Wegas' original song Zusammen Geh'n.

The runner-up in 1984, Linda Martin, won for Ireland this year with the song Why Me? composed - once again - by Johnny Logan who had already won the song contest twice before in 1980 and 1987. Linda Martin managed to overcome the United Kingdom pre-contest favourite by Michael Ball who sang One Step Out Of Time as well as another song performed in English, Little Child by Maltese Mary Spiteri which ended up second and third respectively.

Facts & Figures


Saturday 9 May 1992


MalmöMässan, Malmö, Sweden


Linda Martin from Ireland




Lydia Cappolicchio and Harald Treutiger

EBU Scrutineer

Frank Naef


Kåge Gimtell

Interval Act

A Century of Dance

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Spain
Flag of SpainTVE
Serafin Todo Esto Es La Música 037 14
02 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumRTBF
Morgane Nous On Veut Des Violons 011 20
03 Israel
Flag of IsraelIBA
Dafna Ze Rak Sport 085 06
04 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
Aylin Vatankos Yaz Bitti 017 19
05 Greece
Flag of GreeceERT
Cleopatra Olou Tou Kosmou I Elpida 094 05
06 France
Flag of FranceA2F
Kali Monté La Riviè 073 08
07 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Christer Björkmann I Morgon är En Annan Dag 009 22
08 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
Diná Amor D'água Fresca 026 17
09 Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Evridiki Teriazoume 057 11
10 Malta
Flag of MaltaXM
Mary Spiteri Little Child 123 03
11 Iceland
Flag of IcelandRÚV
Heart 2 Heart Nei Eða Já 080 07
12 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Pave Yamma Yamma 004 23
13 Switzerland
Flag of SwitzerlandSSR SRG
Daisy Auvray Mister Music Man 032 15
14 Luxembourg
Flag of LuxembourgCLT
Marion Welter and Kontinent Sou Fräi 010 21
15 Austria
Flag of AustriaORF
Tony Wegas Zusammen Geh'n 063 10
16 United Kingdom
Flag of United KingdomBBC
Michael Ball One Step Out Of Time 139 02
17 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Linda Martin Why Me 155 01
18 Denmark
Flag of DenmarkDR
Lotte Nilsson and Kenny Lübcke Ålt Det Som Ingen Ser 047 12
19 Italy
Flag of ItalyRAI
Mia Martini Rapsodia 111 04
20 Yugoslavia
Flag of YugoslaviaJRT
Extra Nena Ljubim Te Pesmama 044 13
21 Norway
Flag of NorwayNRK
Merethe Trøan Visjoner 023 18
22 Germany
Flag of GermanyARD
Wind Träume Sind Für Alle Da 027 16
23 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Humphrey Campbell Wijs Me De Weg 067 09


Participant Austria Belgium Cyprus Denmark Finland France Germany Greece Iceland Ireland Israel Italy Luxembourg Malta Norway Portugal Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey United Kingdom Yugoslavia Points Place
Spain Spain
2113647325111 37 14
Belgium Belgium
3134 11 20
Israel Israel
142848727104432712 85 6
Turkey Turkey
386 17 19
Greece Greece
41257271285310487 94 5
France France
37351261061263 73 8
Sweden Sweden
414 9 22
Portugal Portugal
282815 26 17
Cyprus Cyprus
8210634132288 57 11
Malta Malta
8101878103121212125510 123 3
Iceland Iceland
7456645516863212 80 7
Finland Finland
13 4 23
Switzerland Switzerland
5121104 32 15
Luxembourg Luxembourg
10 10 21
Austria Austria
887812432110 63 10
United Kingdom United Kingdom
121261261012472876558710 139 2
Ireland Ireland
107510101012721012741106101282 155 1
Denmark Denmark
3566661473 47 12
Italy Italy
61012121310512887125 111 4
Yugoslavia Yugoslavia
245215410236 44 13
Norway Norway
36114251 23 18
Germany Germany
632106 27 16
The Netherlands The Netherlands
52747538547172 67 9