Eurovision Song Contest 2006 Semi-Final

The 2006 Eurovision Song Contest Semi-Final brought us the 1000th song to be performed at the Eurovision Song Contest: Ireland's entry Every Song Is A Cry For Love by Brian Kennedy.

A modern show in an ancient city

The official logo of the 2006 contest remained the same from 2004 and 2005 with the country's flag in a heart-shaped form. However, the 2006 sub-logo was based on the Phaistos Disc, which is a popular symbol of ancient Greece. According to ERT, it was "inspired by the wind and the sea, the golden sunlight and the glow of the sand". The slogan for the 2006 show was Feel The Rhythm. This theme was also the basis for the postcards for the 2006 show, which emphasised Greece's historical significance as well as being a modern tourist destination.

23 countries took part in the Semi-Final, covering all musical ranges: from Finnish hard-rock to Albanian ethnic sounds as well as Swedish schlager. Belgian star Kate Ryan, who was a big favourite to win the contest, shocked many when she failed to qualify for the final.

Iceland's diva character Silvia Night courted much of the press attention during the event week with her controversial outbursts. In interviews, she referred to the Finnish participants as "stars without a real make-up artist" and she accused the Swedish participant of poisoning her. Many didn't get the joke though and she was booed when she took to the stage.

The ten qualifiers

The ten countries that qualified for the final were: Finland, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Russia, Sweden, Lithuania, Armenia, Ukraine, Turkey, Ireland and FYR Macedonia.

Facts & Figures


Thursday 18 May 2006


Olympic Indoor Hall, Athens, Greece





Maria Menounos and Sakis Rouvas

Executive Producer

Fotini Yannoulatou

EBU Scrutineer

Svante Stockselius


Volker Weicker

The Participants

# Representing country Performer(s) Song title, writer(s) and composer(s) Points Place
01 Armenia
Flag of ArmeniaAMPTV
André Without Your Love
Armen Martirosyan Catherine Bekian
150 06
02 Bulgaria
Flag of BulgariaBNT
Mariana Popova Let Me Cry
Dani Milev Elina Gavrilova
036 17
03 Slovenia
Flag of SloveniaRTVSLO
Anžej Dežan Mr. Nobody
Matjaz Vlašić Ursa Vlašić
049 16
04 Andorra
Flag of AndorraRTVA
Jennifer Sense Tu
Rafael Artesero Herrero Joan Antoni Rechi
008 23
05 Belarus
Flag of BelarusBTRC
Polina Smolova Mum
Sergey Sukhomlin Andrey Kostiugov
010 22
06 Albania
Flag of AlbaniaRTSH
Luiz Ejlli Zjarr E Ftohtë
Klodian Qafoku Floran Kondi
058 14
07 Belgium
Flag of BelgiumVRT
Kate Ryan Je T'adore
Kate Ryan, Niklas Bergwall, Ni...
069 12
08 Ireland
Flag of IrelandRTÉ
Brian Kennedy Every Song Is A Cry For Love
Brian Kennedy
079 09
09 Cyprus
Flag of CyprusCyBC
Annet Artani Why Angels Cry
Peter Yiannakis
057 15
10 Monaco
Flag of MonacoTMC
Séverine Ferrer La Coco-dance
J. Woodfeel, Iren Bo
014 21
11 F.Y.R. Macedonia
Flag of F.Y.R. MacedoniaMKRTV
Elena Risteska Ninanajna
Darko Dimitrov Rade Vrcakovski
076 10
12 Poland
Flag of PolandTVP
Ich Troje Follow My Heart
André Franke Michael Wisnieski, Real McCoy,...
070 11
13 Russia
Flag of RussiaC1R
Dima Bilan Never Let You Go
Alexandr Lunyov Karen Kavaleryan, Irina Antonyan
217 03
14 Turkey
Flag of TurkeyTRT
Sibel Tüzün Superstar
Sibel Tüzün
091 08
15 Ukraine
Flag of UkraineNTU
Tina Karol Show Me Your Love
Tina Karol
146 07
16 Finland
Flag of FinlandYLE
Lordi Hard Rock Hallelujah
Mr. Lordi
292 01
17 The Netherlands
Flag of The NetherlandsNOS
Treble Amambanda
022 20
18 Lithuania
Flag of LithuaniaLRT
LT United We Are The Winners
Andrius Mamontovas, Saulius Ur... Andrius Mamontovas, Viktoras D...
163 05
19 Portugal
Flag of PortugalRTP
Nonstop Coisas De Nada
José Manuel Afonso, Elvis Vei...
026 19
20 Sweden
Flag of SwedenSVT
Carola Invincible
Thomas G:son, Bobby Ljunggren,... Thomas G:son, Carola Häggkvist
214 04
21 Estonia
Flag of EstoniaERR
Sandra Through My Window
Pearu Paulus, Ilmar Laisaar, A... Jana Hallas
028 18
22 Bosnia & Herzegovina
Flag of Bosnia & HerzegovinaBHRT
Hari Mata Hari Lejla
Željko Joksimović Fahrudin Pecikoza & Dejan Ivan...
267 02
23 Iceland
Flag of IcelandRÚV
Silvia Night Congratulations
Þorvaldur Bjarni Þorvaldsson ?gústa Eva Erlendsdóttir & ...
062 13
24 Serbia & Montenegro
Flag of Serbia & MontenegroRTS
Withdrew from the competition, but still voted To be announced 000 24


Participant Albania Andorra Armenia Belarus Belgium Bosnia & Herzegovina Bulgaria Croatia Cyprus Denmark Estonia F.Y.R. Macedonia Finland France Germany Greece Iceland Ireland Israel Latvia Lithuania Malta Moldova Monaco Norway Poland Portugal Romania Russia Serbia & Montenegro Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland The Netherlands Turkey Ukraine United Kingdom Points Place
Armenia Armenia
37128121271010232121233121073 150 6
Bulgaria Bulgaria
88643151 36 17
Slovenia Slovenia
722763145372 49 16
Andorra Andorra
8 8 23
Belarus Belarus
361 10 22
Albania Albania
157123732121032 58 14
Belgium Belgium
71333345276425257 69 12
Ireland Ireland
1356425446176241131238 79 9
Cyprus Cyprus
47122124104137 57 15
Monaco Monaco
3281 14 21
F.Y.R. Macedonia F.Y.R. Macedonia
1281058110868 76 10
Poland Poland
34126237238142542101 70 11
Russia Russia
41212241231011056556412121281248776471412 217 3
Turkey Turkey
68121681083110810 91 8
Ukraine Ukraine
61010332642245386631026108105237 146 7
Finland Finland
1081087107101275128121078101058128588101012566612 292 1
The Netherlands The Netherlands
22443115 22 20
Lithuania Lithuania
5672654484811812106451053436452510 163 5
Portugal Portugal
1277 26 19
Sweden Sweden
5865564421271104108655127810712634774446 214 4
Estonia Estonia
251758 28 18
Bosnia & Herzegovina Bosnia & Herzegovina
101536101258110126106761232812125612712121101281284 267 2
Iceland Iceland
1175712171732665 62 13
Serbia & Montenegro Serbia & Montenegro
- 24