The Eurovision Song Contest is one of the longest running television shows in the world. It was on the 24th of May, 1956, that Europe saw the first ever Eurovision Song Contest. After all those years, the contest is one of the most typical European traditions and without doubt, Europe's favorite TV show! In 2005, the Eurovision Song Contest celebrated its 50th anniversary by picking the best entry to date and in 2015 the 60th anniversary with Eurovision Song Contest's Greatest Hits in London as well as with a conference.

The history of the Eurovision Song Contest

Already for some 60 years years, the Eurovision Song Contest is Europe's favorite TV show. After more than five decades featuring thousands of songs, the contest has become a modern classic, strongly embedded into Europe's collective mind.


Måns Zelmerlöw and Petra Mede hosted the two Semi-Finals and Grand Final in 2016.

Countries & winners

Name First participation Times participated Victories
Flag of Republika e Shqipërisë Albania 13 0
Flag of Principat d'Andorra Andorra 6 0
Flag of Hayastani Hanrapetut’yun Armenia 10 0
Flag of Australia 2 0
Flag of Republik Österreich Austria 49 2
Flag of Azərbaycan Respublikası Azerbaijan 9 1
Flag of Byelarus Belarus 13 0
Flag of Koninkrijk België/Royaume de Belgique/Königreich Belgien Belgium 58 1
Flag of Bosna i Hercegovina Bosnia & Herzegovina 19 0
Flag of Republika Bulgariya Bulgaria 10 0
Flag of Republika Hrvatska Croatia 22 0
Flag of Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία (Kypriakī́ Dīmokratía) Cyprus 33 0
Flag of Česká republika Czech Republic 5 0
Flag of Kongeriget Danmark Denmark 45 3
Flag of Eesti Vabariik Estonia 22 1
Flag of Poranešna Jugoslovenska Republika Makedonija F.Y.R. Macedonia 16 0
Flag of Suomen tasavalta/Republiken Finland Finland 50 1
Flag of République française France 59 5
Flag of Sakartvelo Georgia 9 0
Flag of Bundesrepublik Deutschland Germany 60 2
Flag of Ελληνική Δημοκρατία (Ellīnikī́ Dīmokratía) Greece 37 1
Flag of Magyar Köztársaság Hungary 14 0
Flag of Lýðveldið Ísland Iceland 29 0
Flag of Éire Ireland 50 7
Flag of Medīnat Yisrā'el Israel 39 3
Flag of Repubblica Italiana Italy 42 2
Flag of Latvijas Republika Latvia 17 1
Flag of Lietuvos Respublika Lithuania 17 0
Flag of Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg Luxembourg 37 5
Flag of Repubblika ta' Malta Malta 29 0
Flag of Republica Moldova Moldova 12 0
Flag of Principauté de Monaco Monaco 24 1
Flag of Crna Gora Montenegro 8 0
Flag of Al-Mamlaka al-Maghribiyya Morocco 1 0
Flag of Kongeriket Norge Norway 55 3
Flag of Rzeczpospolita Polska Poland 19 0
Flag of República Portuguesa Portugal 48 0
Flag of România Romania 17 0
Flag of Rossiyskaya Federatsiya Russia 20 1
Flag of Serenissima Repubblica di San Marino San Marino 7 0
Flag of Republika Srbija Serbia 9 1
Flag of Državna zajednica Srbija i Crna Gora Serbia & Montenegro 3 0
Flag of Slovenská republika Slovakia 7 0
Flag of Republika Slovenija Slovenia 22 0
Flag of Reino de España Spain 56 2
Flag of Konungariket Sverige Sweden 56 6
Flag of Confoederatio Helvetica Switzerland 57 2
Flag of Koninkrijk der Nederlanden The Netherlands 57 4
Flag of Türkiye Cumhuriyeti Turkey 34 1
Flag of Ukrayina Ukraine 13 2
Flag of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United Kingdom 59 5
Flag of Socijalistička Federativna Republika Jugoslavija Yugoslavia 27 1

Host Cities on map

Check out where the previous Eurovision Song Contests have taken place and click for more details!

  • Latest Host City is in Purple
  • Cities in blue have hosted the Eurovision Song Contest
  • Cities in yellow have hosted the Eurovision Song Contest twice
  • Cities in red have hosted the Eurovision Song Contest more than two times

Winners on map

Check out all the countries that have won the Eurovision Song Contest. Click on the place marks for more information on the winners.

  • Latest winner has a TV icon
  • Countries in blue have won the Eurovision Song Contest 1 time
  • Countries in yellow have won the Eurovision Song Contest up to 3 times
  • Countries in red have won the Eurovision Song Contest more than three times

View Eurovision Song Contest Winners of all times in a larger map