Host Broadcaster in 2013

Traditionally, the Eurovision Song Contest is being produced by the national public broadcaster of the country that won the year before. In 2013, the Swedish public broadcaster, SVT, was taking care of the production, in close cooperation with the EBU and over 40 participating Member Broadcasters from across Europe.

Sveriges Television (SVT) is the Swedish public service television company with the widest range of programming of all TV companies in Sweden.

The official start took place on 4th September 1956. It was a flying start, the culmination of several years' trial programme transmissions. In 1969 a second national channel was added.

Today SVT operates eight channels - seven national, SVT1, SVT2, SVT24, SVT B (a childrens´ channel) and together with UR, Kunskapskanalen, and one international, SVT World. SVT B and SVT24 share the same channel ID. SVT also operates two HD-channels: SVT1 HD and SVT2 HD.

All SVT channels are digital only. All are distributed via all kinds of platforms. The SVT-programmes can be viewed on via SVT Play for 30 days after the first broadcast.
In late 1997, SVT started broadcasting via satellite to Swedes living in Europe outside Sweden. SVT World offers SVT productions in Swedish in real time to viewers all over the world but South America.

SVT programming is non commercial. The programming covers the whole genre spectre. In 2012 SVT1 is the biggest channel and also receives the highest ranking by the Swedish audience.

SVT is together with the public service radio (SR) the most trusted Swedish media and enjoys a very good support from the Swedish TV audience.


Måns Zelmerlöw and Petra Mede hosted the two Semi-Finals and Grand Final in 2016.