Maria Haukaas Storeng wins in Norway

Maria Haukaas Storeng wins in Norway
Maria Haukaas Storeng (photo courtesy of Geir Evensen/NRK)
After three semi-finals, a second-chance heat and the big final tonight in Oslo, the participant to represent Norway was finally selected by Norwegian televoters and local juries.

The location of this year's Melodi Grand Prix 2008 in Norway, Oslo Spektrum, was packed with cheerful people when the outcome of tonight's final was revealed. Maria Haukaas Storeng is going to represent the Scandinavian country in Belgrade in May. Maria Haukaas Storeng's win was superior in votes to her contestants after the voting procedure had finished; she won with more than 75,000 votes to the runner-up!

For many people including bookmakers, it was a big surprise that CRASH! and Ann-Mari Andersen did not make the 'golden finalists' round.

The voting procedure

Out of the eight finalist, four 'golden finalists' were selected by televote to present their songs once more. The voting procedure at Melodi Grand Prix 2008 was made up both by juries and televoters. Three juries from Stavanger, Kongsvinger and Bodø each gave a finalist 2,000, 4,000, 6,000 or 10,000 votes, and after that the televotes were reaveled from five different regions of the country. The 'golden finalists' were:

  1. Torstein Sødal - Eastern Wind
  2. Veronica Akselsen - Am I Supposed To Love Again
  3. King of Trolls - Far Away
  4. Maria Haukaas Storeng - Hold On Be Strong

Entries eliminated after the first round:

  • Ann-Mari Andersen - Ándagassii
  • CRASH! - Get Up
  • Ole Ivars - Som I Himmelen
  • Tinkerbells – Hold On

The result

Tonight's result of Melodi Grand Prix 2008 after the voting procedure is as follows:

  1. Maria Haukaas Storeng - Hold On Be Strong 195,661 votes
  2. Torstein Sødal - Eastern Wind 118,095 votes
  3. King of Trolls - Far Away 115,011 votes
  4. Veronica Akselsen - Am I Supposed To Love Again 109,957 votes

The selected entrant for Norway is going to participate in the first Semi-Final in Belgrade, on the 20th of May.


There is 1 comment

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page