France requests to vote in first Semi-Final

France requests to vote in first Semi-Final
The French flag
Geneva, Switzerland -

Broadcaster France 3 has approached the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group with a request to move the broadcast and voting obligation of the draw for France from the second to the first Semi-Final, to avoid scheduling problems. At the same time, France 3 would commit itself to more intense promotion of the contest, including the commitment to broadcast both Semi-Finals (the first one live, the second one deferred). The Reference Group accepted the proposal.

The decision leads to the following change in the way the so-called 'Big Four' (France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom) and host country Norway vote in the two Semi-Finals:

Broadcasting of and voting in the first Semi-Final: France, Germany and Spain
Broadcasting of and voting in the second Semi-Final: Norway and the United Kingdom

Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of the European Broadcasting Union, said to "We appreciate the commitment of France 3 to, for the first time, broadcast all three shows. This decision is in line with French success and good ratings of the 2009 contest in Moscow, and supports growing interest in the Eurovision Song Contest in France."


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki