43 countries to take part in Moscow!

43 countries to take part in Moscow!
Geneva, Switzerland -

After months of speculation, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) can now reveal the final list of countries represented at the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow. EBU Members from 43 countries returned their participation forms.

Slovakia returns to the competition after some 10 years of absense, while San Marino will not send a contestant to Moscow. Despite the earlier intention not to take part, the Georgian broadcaster GPB decided to apply for participation shortly after the official deadline. Nevertheless, the Reference Group of the Eurovision Song Contest unanimously decided to accept their application due to "exceptional circumstances". Latvian broadcaster LTV also decided to take part, despite the earlier announcement not to compete.

The following 38 countries will be represented in the two Semi-Finals of the 54th Eurovision Song Contest, on 12th and 14th of May:

Albania (RTVSH); Andorra (RTVA); Armenia (ARMTV); Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV); Belarus (BTRC); Belgium (RTBF); Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT); Bulgaria (BNT); Croatia (HRT); Cyprus (CyBC); Czech Republic (CT); Denmark (DR); Estonia (ERR); Finland (YLE); FYR Macedonia (MKRTV); Georgia (GPB); Greece (ERT); Hungary (MTV); Iceland (RÚV); Ireland (RTÉ); Israel (IBA); Latvia (LTV); Lithuania (LRT); Malta (PBS); Moldova (TRM); Montenegro (RTCG); the Netherlands (NOS); Norway (NRK); Poland (TVP); Portugal (RTP); Romania (TVR); Serbia (RTS); Slovakia (STV); Slovenia (RTVSLO); Sweden (SVT); Switzerland (SRG SSR idée suisse); Turkey (TRT) and Ukraine (NTU).

The draw to determine on which of the two nights the 38 Semi-Finalists will perform, will take place on the 30th of January in Moscow. The draws for the running order of the Semi-Finals, the Final and voting order take place in mid-March.

France (FT3), Germany (NDR/ARD), Russia (Channel One), Spain (TVE) and the United Kingdom (BBC) are automatically qualified for the Final, scheduled to take place on the 16th of May.

Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of the EBU, refers to the participants list as a "tight family", and said: "42 of last year's 43 represented countries are back in the competition. We are very happy to see that despite a difficult year and the initial intention not to take part, Georgia returns to the competition. It is also fantastic to see Slovakia back, after 10 years of absence! Together with Host Broadcaster Channel One from Russia we are looking forward to another fantastic Eurovision Song Contest."

There are 92 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page