Final of Eurovision 2011 set for 14 May, Lena returns!

Final of Eurovision 2011 set for 14 May, Lena returns!
Lena returns in 2011! Photo: Indrek Galetin (EBU)
Hamburg, Germany -

The Eurovision Song Contest team of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) was kindly invited to Hamburg, Germany, to hold its first briefing meeting at next year's Host Broadcaster, NDR. With the broadcaster's headquarters located in Hamburg, it was an obvious location for the first briefing. A decision about the Host City of the 2011 contest has not been taken yet, and is only expected to be made at the end of this summer, but the dates for next year's contest are now set!

A key decision taken was to move the 56th Eurovision Song Contest to mid-May. The Semi-Finals are now set to take place on the 10th and 12th of May, the Final on Saturday the 14th of May, 2011. The decision was taken to avoid collision with major televised sports events taking place in late May.

During the traditional first briefing meeting of the new Host Broadcaster, the EBU team gives a first insight in the organisational details of the Eurovision Song Contest. With less than a year on the countdown clock, this gives the Host Broadcaster the opportunity to start the first preparations for next year's contest early.

NDR has already setup a team of experts to kick off the preparations for hosting the 56th running of Europe's favourite TV-show. For the months ahead, NDR is set to take decisions on the Host City and the venue where the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest shall take place. Since Germany has many large cities that meet the minimum requirements to host the Eurovision Song Contest, several cities have been asked to submit proposals in the weeks to come. The decision on the Host City is likely to be announced in September.

NDR also confirmed that 2010 Eurovision Song Contest winner Lena will once again represent Germany next year, to defend her title. Details about the song selection will be announced in due time.

Only Lys Assia, the winner of the first Eurovision Song Contest in 1956, and Corry Brokken came back the year after to defend their title. Other former winners, such as Johnny Logan, Carola, Charlotte Perelli and Niamh Kavanagh, waited for several years to return after a victory. Only Johnny Logan won the Eurovision Song Contest more than once; twice as an artist, once as song writer.

There are 74 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 11 May 2011 at 16:32
    Greece of course .... report to the moderator
  • Posted on 1 May 2011 at 10:40
    turkeyyyyyyyyyyyy report to the moderator
  • Posted on 27 March 2011 at 22:24
    Honestly...? HER... again? Wasn't last year enough? *sigh* report to the moderator
  • Posted on 14 March 2011 at 18:54
    5 words: Lena is going to lose

    3 words: vote for Turkey,<3 report to the moderator
  • Posted on 4 March 2011 at 18:11
    i think its Irelands year at long last report to the moderator
  • Posted on 20 February 2011 at 22:09
    Hey you forgot our Chiara report to the moderator
  • Posted on 20 February 2011 at 21:48
    Message to Lena from Lithuania
    Last year band “Timohi” fell in love with Lena Meyer-Landrut, a winner of the Eurovision song contest and have started writing her letters, but she didn’t respond…
    Therefore, they came up with a cunning plan, they’ve decided to participate in a national Eurovision Song Contest, win it and try to meet Lena in Germany.
    Song “Satellite of Satellite” was created specifically for Eurovision contest and is dedicated to Lena – in response to her song “Satellite” report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 February 2011 at 23:34
    I hope that Italy take part this year report to the moderator
  • Posted on 26 January 2011 at 19:10
    VOTE FOR TURKEY report to the moderator
  • Posted on 24 January 2011 at 16:28
  • Posted on 24 January 2011 at 11:46
    let this contest be all about music and frendship.
    And don't forget Greece folks to give 12 points to Macedonia this year report to the moderator
  • Posted on 22 January 2011 at 22:30
  • Posted on 21 January 2011 at 21:11
    And something else i have to comment on

    the first five should just go through not the 5 most popular in Europe thats just unfair

    they deserve it

    like i said before

    vote for Turkey3> report to the moderator
  • Posted on 21 January 2011 at 21:06
    In my opinion Lena should not participate again because it makes no sense wat so ever

    if u win one year y do it again ................ you know ur going to loose so wats the point

    and i find it quite selfish so selfish y y y let others have a go even if u dont win it nice to feel

    that eurovision spirit the first time if u do it the second time u know wat u have to do and

    when u have to do it. if some one new does it they get to experience the eurovision spirit

    no one vote for Germany

    vote for Turkey3> report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 December 2010 at 09:46
    Umm, okay, say Lena wins again, would Eurovision be in Germany again? I just don't understand how it will work out, maybe she will get to pick where it is held in 2012. Oh well, I cant wait until it's on again! I just love the Eurovision magic! report to the moderator