Results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw

Results of the Semi-Final Allocation Draw
The Semi-Final Allocation Draw, earlier today in Düsseldorf
Düsseldorf, Germany -

Moments ago, the Semi-Final Allocation Draw for the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest took place in Düsseldorf, Germany. Under scrutiny of Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the contest on behalf of the EBU, and a representative from Digame. Digame is the EBU's official voting partner and handles the pan-European response platform over which the contest's voting runs.

To assure maximum suspense, the 38 countries represented in the Semi-Finals were drawn from six pots, based on voting patterns of 2010. After all, viewers can only vote for the other countries that take part in that respective Semi-Final.

It also be decided if a country participates in the first or second half of the respective Semi-Final, so that delegations know well in advance on which day they are expected in Düsseldorf for their first stage rehearsal.

After a draw, the countries will perform in these Semi-Finals (and in these halves):

First Semi-Final

First half

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey

Second half

  • Azerbaijan
  • Croatia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • San Marino

Second Semi-Final

First half

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Cyprus
  • Moldova
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden
  • The Netherlands
  • Ukraine

Second half

  • Belarus
  • Bulgaria
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Latvia
  • Romania
  • Slovenia

Israeli broadcaster IBA has asked to EBU to grant them a spot in the second Semi-Final, due to their memorial day on the 10th of May. German Host Broadcaster NDR asked the EBU to allocate them to broadcast and vote in the second Semi-Final for scheduling reasons. Both requests have been granted.

Five countries have already qualified for the Final of the Eurovision Song Contest, being United Kingdom, France, Germany (the Host Country), Spain and making their return after 13 years - Italy. As a total of 25 countries will take part in the Final, then 10 from each Semi-Final will qualify for it. They are obliged to broadcast and vote in (as drawn):

  • Spain (first Semi-Final)
  • United Kingdom (first Semi-Final)
  • France (second Semi-Final)
  • Germany (second Semi-Final)
  • Italy (second Semi-Final)

Also, check out how the event looked like in Düsseldorf!

The Semi-Finalists were drawn from six pots, which were as follows:

Pot 1: Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland

Pot 2: Denmark, Estonia, Finland,Iceland,Norway,Sweden

Pot 3: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Israel, Moldova, Russia, Ukraine

Pot 4: Armenia, Belgium, Cyprus, Greece, The Netherlands, Turkey

Pot 5: Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Portugal, Romania

Pot 6: Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia

The next draw, to decide upon the starting order of the songs in each Semi-Final and the Final, will be conducted - as usual - at the Heads of Delegation meeting in March.

There are 162 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 18 April 2011 at 16:51
    top 10 semi final.....1ARMENIA 2 GEORGIA 3 GRECCE 4 TURKEY 5 RUSSIA 6 SERBIA 7 NORWAY 8 AUSTRIA 9 FILAND 10 AZERBEJAN .....GOO ARMENIA EMMY BOOM BOOM report to the moderator
  • Posted on 16 April 2011 at 09:05
    This country of Azerbaijan and Turkey for the friend nafti report to the moderator
  • Posted on 14 April 2011 at 05:40
    Albania!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 18 March 2011 at 20:58
    good luck to everyone on the night does not matter who wins its about haveing fun on the night and who stands out everyone is winner in my eyes .... Music is like Fashion allways changing many diffrent styles but the allways someone who can stand out so good luck to everyone this year and just be yourself and im sure the best winner will shine on the night .

    GOOD LUCK TO ALL LET THE LIGHT SHINE !!!!!!!!! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 18 March 2011 at 19:06
    would like to say love the look think its stunning but the song is not that good but wish you all the best on the night !!!!1 report to the moderator
  • Posted on 18 March 2011 at 01:50
    Good luck to u Aurela with Feel the Passion cos we are full of energy and passion.
    Albanian entry is so wonderful and im happy that albanians like ti.
    The song is already in english version and u all can hear it.
    Im in for my ALBANIA... We are the best and hope to go in TOP 5.
    VOTE VOTE VOTE FOR ALBANIAAAAAA report to the moderator
  • Posted on 15 March 2011 at 18:32
  • Posted on 14 March 2011 at 16:58
    from Poland
    Hotel Fm - Change - in my top ten, goog luck Romania!
    My Top 10 :
    (Poland) Magdalena Tul - Jestem (I know, I know, but the Poland did not have such nice song long ago.)
    (Austria) Nadine Beiler - The Secret is Love
    (Latvia) Musiqq - Angel in Disguise
    (Ukraine) Mika Newton - Angel
    (Azerbaijan) Ell & Nikki - Running Scared
    (Belarus) Anastasiya Vinnikova - I Am Belarusian (Born In Belarusian)
    (Hungary) Kati Wolf - What about my dreams
    (Romania) Hotel Fm - Change
    (United Kingdom) Blue - I Can
    (Norway) Stella Mwangi - Haba haba report to the moderator
  • Posted on 8 March 2011 at 00:35
    Go Armenia...Go Emmy report to the moderator
  • Posted on 7 March 2011 at 10:53
    Good Luck Emmy report to the moderator
  • Posted on 6 March 2011 at 19:26
    Being entirely honest, even though so many people argue about AYO not being chosen this year for Armenia, I kinda start really liking Boom after listening to it several times!
    It's very lively and if they put a nice dance show-it might even be a great success!
    Go Armenia! ♥ report to the moderator
  • Posted on 6 March 2011 at 17:43
    This Year Romanian song is soooooo coool report to the moderator
  • Posted on 6 March 2011 at 17:41
    This year Armenia would be in Top 3 (Harut jan) report to the moderator
  • Posted on 27 February 2011 at 08:26
    Go Turkey and Azerbaijan ►►►►►► report to the moderator
  • Posted on 24 February 2011 at 16:17
    From Armenia ;) report to the moderator