Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards

Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards
Photo courtesy of Pieter Van den Berghe (EBU)
Düsseldorf, Germany -

Azerbaijan were not the only winners on Saturday night. Three other acts were also able to celebrate winning, when the annual Marcel Bezençon Awards were handed out in Düsseldorf. The awards were presented in a ceremony backstage shortly before the Final, hosted by Christer Björkman, founder of the awards.

The Marcel Bezençon Awards were first handed out during the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest in Tallinn. The awards are named after the creator of the contest, Marcel Bezençon. See the video of this year's event below.

The 2011 Marcel Bezençon Awards

Press Award – Given to the best entry as voted on by the accredited media and press during the Eurovision Song Contest: Paradise Oskar from Finland with Da Da Dum.

Artistic Award – Presented to the best artist as voted on by the commentators: Jedward from Ireland who performed Lipstick.

Composer Award – The best and most original composition as voted on by the participating composers: Daniel Moyne, Quentin Bachelet, Jean-Pierre Marcellessi and Julie Miller for the French entry Sognu performed by Amuary Vassili.

Last year one country scooped all three awards when Harel Skaatt for Israel triumphed with the song Milim, composed by Tomer Adaddi and Noam Horev.


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki