EBU restores televoting window as from 2012

EBU restores televoting window as from 2012
The scoreboard during the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest
Geneva, Switzerland -

During last week's meeting of the Eurovision Song Contest's governing body, the Reference Group, an EBU proposal to return from full-show televoting to a limited televoting window was approved. The meeting was the first of the newly installed Reference Group.

The Reference Group decided to, as from 2012, restore the opening of the televoting window after the last song has been performed, instead of before the first song. Initially, the change was introduced to give viewers the opportunity to vote throughout the show like during many other television programmes, and to vote instantly when a song is on.

However, analysis of voting data shows that an overwhelming majority of viewers still votes after the last song. Another argument to drop the full-show voting is the appearance of graphics during the show, which take up as many as 25 percent of the screen due to the required legal information and thereby distracts from the artistic performance.

Even though analysis shows that full-show televoting does not put anyone in a competitive disadvantage and that the position in the running order does not favour contestants performing early in the show, the EBU does value the fact that some viewers perceive it as more fair to vote after all contestants have performed.

A decision about the length of the televoting window will be taken at a later stage in the lead up to the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest, which is scheduled to take place on 22, 24 and 26 May in Azerbaijan.

Yuri Aksyuta (C1R), Executive Producer of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow, completed his term as Reference Group member, while Julian Vignoles (RTÉ) and Federico Llano (RTVE) saw their elected term end. Adil Kerimli of Ictimai TV from Azerbaijan joined the group, together with elected members Maarten Verhaegen from VRT, the broadcaster of the Flemish Community in Belgium, and Dejan Kukric from BHRT (Bosnia & Herzegovina). Christer Björkman from SVT in Sweden was re-elected for a two-year term, while Thomas Schreiber from NDR in Germany remains in the group until after the 2013 contest as Executive Producer of the 2011 contest in Düsseldorf. Bruno Berberes from France was elected for a one-year term.

There are 32 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 17 July 2011 at 17:08
    yeah!!!!!! it is very better than 2010 and 2011 report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 July 2011 at 00:00
    @Andrew Bradley.

    I think you misunderstood the article. They are talking about the voting details graphics at the bottom of the screen, not the background screens.

    It is best to vote after the songs have been performed. It only encourages people to vote for a country rather than a song. How can you vote for something you haven't heard yet....quite ridiculous. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 July 2011 at 01:08
    Agree with omnicore BUT there remains an important step beside.

    * Limit the amount of calls/phone (at best to one)

    Then we will have a fair, colourful, transparent and credible competition. Thank you. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 9 July 2011 at 21:29
    Great news, :D (it was about time), now get the jury out of the contest and the contest will be perfect again :D (please :) ) report to the moderator
  • Posted on 7 July 2011 at 18:57
    I think Azerbaijan deserves to win and please don't remove the huge graphic screen... It's nit a distraction at all. Look at Anna rossenelli' s (Switzerland) entry... 19 pts lol 25th place. But the stage screen graphic is awesome or the French entry. It's not the "screens fault" that the artists delivered poorly. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 7 July 2011 at 11:01
    FOR Azerbaijan................ ♥ ♥ ♥ report to the moderator
  • Posted on 7 July 2011 at 07:54
  • Posted on 6 July 2011 at 23:28
    i thinl they should keep the new system a bit longer. it takes time to adjust to new things for many people and 2 years probably isnt enough. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 5 July 2011 at 20:16
    Thank you Baku for bringing the original voting window back, now all we need is an actual combined score system and then we have ourselves a contest. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 4 July 2011 at 22:02
    Nikki (last years winner along with Ell) was from North London in the United Kingdom anyway. So in a way we did win :)
    Go Azerbaijan, Go Britania! Go Europe!! xXx report to the moderator
  • Posted on 4 July 2011 at 22:01
    Brilliant Idea! I proffered it the old way anyway.
    Good luck, Baku 2012.
    Suprise Suprise they won last year.
    FIX! FIX! FIX! Although it was a pretty good song, but there were better entries. But yh u could tell it was a fix. Put im sure its still gonna be a brilliant year. Love u Baku! xXx report to the moderator
  • Posted on 4 July 2011 at 21:50
    50/50 jury televoting is THE ONLY way to keep the competition fair end of report to the moderator
  • Posted on 4 July 2011 at 05:08
    Oh! That's okay. I think that's better. :) report to the moderator
  • Posted on 2 July 2011 at 22:41
    I would want that the vote was so! Viewers vote 10 minutes after the presentations of the participants and the jury to remove from the competition! Because of them the wrong tenths! REMOVE THE JURY OF THE COMPETITION!!! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 2 July 2011 at 12:27
    this is excellent and fair!!!! report to the moderator