Live at 17:00 CET: the Semi-Final Allocation Draw

Live at 17:00 CET: the Semi-Final Allocation Draw
Buta Palace will host Wednesday's event. Photo:
Baku, Azerbaijan -

WATCH LIVE! • On Wednesday at 17:00 CET, Baku will introduce itself as Host City of the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest with a spectacular live show. During the 100-minute event, the Mayor of Düsseldorf will hand over the Host City Insignia to the Mayor of Baku. The ceremony will be followed by the Semi-Final Allocation Draw. During the show, the slogan and theme art for Baku 2012 will also be revealed.

The events of tomorrow will start with the traditional Host City Insignia Exchange where the Mayor of Düsseldorf will hand over a symbolic key to the Mayor of Baku. Thus, it'll be now Baku's turn to host Europe's favourite TV show.

This will be followed by a draw which will determine in which Semi-Final this year's 37 Semi-Finalists will compete in as well as where will France, the UK, Spain, Italy, Germany and Azerbaijan vote in.

And if that's not enough of excitement, then the Host Broadcaster Ictimai TV will also present the theme art for this year's contest.

All of that will be followed by a show featuring performances by Ruslana, Safura, Aysel, Lena, Alexander Rybak and of course, Ell/Nikki!

Of course, you can see it all live on! The show starts at 17:00 CET.

The event will also be aired live by the Host Broadcasters Ictimai TV as well as a number of national broadcasters all over Europe.

What about the venue?

On Wednesday morning, the Reference Group will gather in Baku for a two-day meeting, to discuss a variety of topics in the lead up to the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. The agenda shows concrete topics, of which the most exciting one is a final decision on the venue for the upcoming contest.

Meanwhile, press and fans are eager to learn more about accreditation, accommodation in Baku, visa arrangement and of course tickets for the shows. We expect more information on all of these topics after the Reference Group meeting, so stay with for the days to come!

You can see a video of the preparations below!


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki