Finland: two more acts evicted in UMK

Finland: two more acts evicted in UMK
Ville Eetvartti proceeds to the next round. Photos: YLE
Helsinki, Finland -

The third show of UMK was aired tonight. It followed the last six artists in the competition, and after watching them perform live Aura Pineda and Leola were evicted by the jury. One extra wildcard was also given to The Spyro.

In the first show of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK), the Finnish national selection for the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest, twelve of the artists were selected among forty hopefuls. In the second show, six out of those twelve acts were followed during their live casting and two of them were evicted. Tonight it was time for the remaining six to try their lucks (qualifiers in bold):

  • Iconcrash - We Are The Night
  • Aura Pineda - Kunpa Vois
  • Freeman & Uusi Fantasia - Noitanainen
  • Leola - Rytmit Rikkoutuu
  • Ville Eetvartti - Lasikaupunki
  • Kaisa Vala - Habits Of Human Beings

UMK Show 3

IconcrashFreeman & Uusi FantasiaKaisa ValaVille EetvarttiLeolaAura Pineda

Check out the Full gallery

So that means that Aura Pineda and Leola also left the competition tonight. At the end of the show it was also announced which of the three wildcards received a ticket to join the competition from next week on (selected entry in bold):

  • Jessica Wolf - Better
  • Martina - Checkmate
  • The Spyro - Teleport My Heart (pictured below)

That takes the total number of acts taking part in next week's show of UMK to nine (in alphabetical order):

  • Aili – Mun Taivas
  • Freeman & Uusi Fantasia – Noitanainen
  • Iconcrash – We Are The Night
  • Kaisa Vala – Habits Of Human Beings
  • Mica Ikonen – Antaa Mennä
  • Pernilla Karlsson – När Jag Blundar
  • Stig – Laululeija
  • The Spyro – Teleport My Heart
  • Ville Eetvartti – Lasikaupunki

The show next week will be a so called "club gig" where all nine artists will have the chance to perform in front of an audience. After that two more will leave the contest.

Only six acts will reach the final of UMK where Finland's entry for the Eurovision Song Contest will be chosen. It will take place on the 25th of February at the Helsinki Ice Hall with guest stars The Rasmus, Anna Abreu and last year's Finnish entrant Paradise Oskar.

There are 6 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 11 February 2012 at 10:14

    Despite the concept, I wish all the artists best of luck, and I hope whoever wins will represent my country in a good way.
    Still rooting for Ville Eetvartti though. He's simply the best. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 February 2012 at 10:13
    It's that time of the year again - I hope I don't need to be ashamed of my name!

    Anyway, if Finland wants to do well at this year's Eurovision, Ville Eetvartti is the obvious choice. The song has got a great, light europop melody, his voice is strong, and the song really doesn't need a huge stage act (Finland just cannot do stage acts).
    Also, he's said he will sing in English should he be chosen to Baku.

    I wouldn't mind Pernilla Karlsson either, because the Swedish of Finland is a rare treat in Eurovision, and the song is really good. We'll see what happens.

    Otherwise, the quality is average, sadly meaning pretty bad. No other songs have impressed me yet.

    Oh, and change back the concept of the Eurovision selection! I complained about how bad it was before, but this is worse. I miss the old concept, since at least you heard some music there. Televising anything but the Finnish national final is currently
    pointless. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 February 2012 at 01:56
    Leola was my choice. :-(
    I'll have to go and listen again. Iconcrash are good - but I dont know about the others. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 February 2012 at 23:21
    good luck SUOMI! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 February 2012 at 22:12
    Oh sh.... Aura Pineda's song was beautiful and Leola rocks! Can't believe it. Leola was one of the favourites.
    And I have to say that I don't understand the qualifiers system.
    The boy in the pic Ville Eetvartti is so hot!.
    Anyway, go Finland! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 10 February 2012 at 21:04
    Good luck snowy Finland

    Hugs report to the moderator