UK selects Andy Abraham!

UK selects Andy Abraham!
Eurovision - Your Decision (courtesy of BBC)
Six acts participated in the British national final Eurovision - Your Decision, but only one could represent the country in the final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest which will take place in Belgrade on the 24th of May. Five of the contestants had to go home again - but it was Andy Abraham who managed to get the majority of the UK televotes and will be the country's joy in the Beogradska Arena performing Even If.

Hosted by Terry Wogan and Claudia Winkleman, Eurovision - Your Decision showed a totally new approach to selecting a song for Belgrade as the 6 participants were divided in three categories soloists, girl groups and Joseph versus Maria. The last category referred to singers from the popular musical casting shows Any Dream Will Do and How To Solve a Problem Like Maria. After each performance a special panel of judges decided which act from each category went on through to the next round for the public vote. Terry Wogan then picked a wildcard to go through and all these four acts returned for the second part of the show. The two acts with the lowest public vote - The Revelations and Simona Armstrong - had to leave the competition, so that the remaining two acts Andy Abraham singing Even If and Michelle Gayle performing Woo (U Make Me) progressed to the superfinal!


  • Michelle Gayle - Woo (U Make Me) - Superfinalist
  • Andy Abraham - Even If - Winner

Girl groups

  • The Revelations - It's You - Qualifier
  • LoveShy - Mr. Gorgeous

Joseph vs. Maria

  • Rob McVeigh - I Owe It All To You
  • Simona Armstrong - Changes - Qualifier

There was a big tension inside the BBC studio 8 when the two superfinalists Andy Abraham and Michelle Gayle performed their songs again, and both acts anxiously awaited the final verdict which gave the victory to Andy Abraham!

Andy Abraham will perform his song in the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest Final on the 24th of May as the UK is one of the five countries having a pre-set spot, alongside France, Germany, Spain and the host nation Serbia.