He holds the record: Meet Ralph Siegel!

Eurovision's most prolific composer has penned more than 20 entries over 40 years

Ralph Siegel
Vienna, Austria

In the sphere of the Eurovision Song Contest, he is not only a true legend but also the undisputed record holder: Ralph Siegel has penned no fewer than 23 entries since his first participation in 1974. His songs have represented five countries. His home country Germany owes its first victory to him. And even this year, after more than 40 years, he has still been contributing to Europe's Favourite TV show by composing the entry of San Marino. Watch our video feature with him and learn how he perceived the contest in the past decades, and what were his personal highlights!

"To be in Jerusalem was very emotional", Ralph Siegel tells us about his participation in the 1979 Eurovision Song Contest with Dschinghis Khan. But of course nothing could top his first victory, with Nicole's Ein Bisschen Frieden in 1982 for their home country Germany: "Harrogate was such a small city, and the emotion to win is just very special."

Watch our video feature about Eurovision's most prolific composer right below!

Having participated in so many Eurovision Song Contests to date and still coming up with new songs for this occasion almost every year, it is sometimes hard for Ralph Siegel to picture how many years have passed since his first participation. "It was a highlight that Nicole was just 17 years old at the time of her victory, and last October I sent her roses for her 50th birthday", he recalls one recent anecdote. "You suddenly see 33 years passing by, and I realise how old I am."

Of course the contest has changed a lot since its beginning in history - from a TV show broadcast from a small and formal venue to a high-tech show event using the most sophisticated equipment available, as we saw it broadcast from Vienna during the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest. This time, Ralph Siegel has represented San Marino with Chain Of Lights, sung by young Anita Simoncini & Michele Perniola. "It's a fantastic show here, it's fabulous what they are doing today - the whole hall is like a Chain Of Lights!"

Entries written by Ralph Siegel

1974 Ireen Sheer Bye Bye I Love You Luxembourg
1976 The Les Humphries Singers Sing Sang Song Germany
1979 Dschinghis Khan Dschinghis Khan Germany
1980 Katja Ebstein Theater Germany
1980 Sophie & Magaly Papa Pingouin Luxembourg
1981 Lena Valaitis Johnny Blue Germany
1982 Nicole Ein Bisschen Frieden Germany
1985 Margo, Franck Olivier,
Diane Solomon, Ireen Sheer,
Malcolm & Chris Roberts
Children, Kinder, Enfants Luxembourg
1987 Wind Lass die Sonne in dein Herz Germany
1988 Maxi & Chris Garden Lied für einen Freund Germany
1990 Chris Kempers & Daniel Kovac Frei zu leben Germany
1992 Wind Träume sind für alle da Germany
1994 MeKaDo Wir geben 'ne Party Germany
1997 Bianca Shomburg Zeit Germany
1999 Sürpriz Reise nach Jerusalem Germany
2002 Corinna May I Can't Live Without Music Germany
2003 Lou Let's Get Happy Germany
2006 six4one If We All Give A Little Switzerland
2009 Andrea Demirović Just Get Out Of My Life Montenegro
2012 Valentina Monetta The Social Network Song San Marino
2013 Valentina Monetta Crisalide (Vola) San Marino
2014 Valentina Monetta Maybe San Marino
2015 Anita Simoncini &
Michele Perniola
Chain Of Lights San Marino


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki