Iceland: second semi-final results

Alda Dís, Elísabet Ormslev and Þórdís & Guðmundur to the final

One of tonight's finalists: Alda Dís Arnardóttir
Reykjavik, Iceland

One more year Iceland will choose its participant for Eurovision through the competition Söngvakeppnin. The national selection comprises two semi-finals with six songs each, and tonight the last six battled out for the three spots in the Final on the 20th of February.

The second semi-final of Söngvakeppnin 2016 just took place at the Háskólabíó venue in Reykjavik, hosted by Ragnhildur Steinunn Jónsdóttir & Guðrún Dís Emilsdóttir. In the show three songs have won their ticket to the final:

  • Alda Dís Arnardóttir - Augnablik
  • Elísabet Ormslev - Á ný
  • Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson - Spring yfir heiminn

From all the six evicted songs in both semi-finals one more will get a wildcard for the final.

The line-up of semi-final 2

Twelve acts in total compete for the honour to represent Iceland at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Sweden. They are divided in two semi-finals and the first six participated in tonight's show (in order of appearance):

  1. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson - Spring yfir heiminn (Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson)
  2. Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius - Ótöluð orð (Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius)
  3. Helgi Valur Ásgeirsson - Óvær (Karl Olgeirsson)
  4. Elísabet Ormslev - Á ný (Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir)
  5. Pálmi Gunnarsson - Ég leiði þig heim (Þórir Úlfarsson)
  6. Alda Dís Arnardóttir - Augnablik (Alma Guðmundsdóttir, James Wong & Alda Dís Arnardóttir)

The top three songs in the semi-final, chosen by televoting, qualified for the final to be held next Saturday, the 20th of February.

Who's who?

  • Alda Dís Arnardóttir won the talent show Ísland got talent in 2015.
  • Greta Salóme composed the song Never Forget and performed it with Jónsi in 2012 in Baku.
  • Pálmi Gunnarsson was a member of Icy who represented Iceland on their debut Bergen in 1986.


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki