IVAN will represent Belarus!

Tonight's winner: IVAN BTRC
Minsk, Belarus

Tonight the representative of Belarus in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest has been chosen: It's IVAN, singing the song Help You Fly! The decision was taken solely by the TV viewers in a live show out of ten candidates.

In an exciting show, the Belarusian televoters have made their choice on the representative of their home country in the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. It's IVAN, also known as Alexander Ivanov, who will sing the song Help You Fly in Stockholm. You can watch his performance on the BTRC website.

His entry was composed and produced by Victor Drobysh, with lyrics by Mary Applegate. The duo also penned the Russian entries in 2005 (Nobody Hurt No One by Natalia Podolskaya) and 2012 (Party For Everybody by Buranovskie Babushki) respectively. 

The full results of the televoting are shown below:

The Final Results of the Televoting BTRC

The result was then translated into points:

  • 12 points: IVAN (Aleksandr Ivanov) - Help You Fly
  • 10 points: NAPOLI - My Universe
  • 8 points: Kirill ErmakovRunning To The Sun
  • 7 points: NAVI - Гэта зямля (This Land)
  • 6 points: Aleksey Gross - Flame
  • 5 points: Anastasia Malashkevich - Pray For Love
  • 4 points: THE EM - Turn Around
  • 3 points: Valeria Sadovskaya - Not Alone
  • 2 points: Radiovolna - Radiowave
  • 1 point: Sasha Zakharik - Glory Night

The acts were chosen by an expert jury during live auditions in November and December 2015. Tonight however it was only the TV viewers who picked the winner by means of televoting.

Did you miss the show? Then look no further: You can watch the Belarusian national again in our WebTV Player on Eurovision.tv!

The Show

The final was presented by TEO, who sang for Belarus in the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest, and his wife Olga Ryzhikova. They kicked off the show with a duet song, shortly after Uzari, who had represented Belarus last year together with Maimuna, greeted the public and wished all participants good luck.

The spectacular event, including a large 43 x 5 square metres LED screen set at the stage background, was broadcast live from the 600 metres studios in Minsk. 

In the interval, Alyona Lanskaya performed. She had represented Belarus in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest. Other acts included Gunesh, who had taken part in several Belarusian national finals before and who was a member of this year's selection jury, as well as Sasha Nemo and Kattie.

The award given to the winner tonight BTRC


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki