Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards

Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards
The Common Linnets winner of two awards. Photo Thomas Hanses (EBU)
Copenhagen, Denmark -

Conchita Wurst from Austria didn't just take home the Grand Prix last night in Copenhagen, but also took home the Marcel Bezençon Press Award. There was a consolation for the runners-up last night , theNetherlands, as they took the two other awards. They were presented in a ceremony shortly before the Final last night, hosted by Swedish Tv producer, Fredrik Ekelund.

The Marcel Bezençon Awards were first handed out during the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest in Tallinn, and founded by Christer Björkman. The awards are named after the creator of Europe's Favourite Tv Show - Marcel Bezençon. See the video of this year's event below.

The 2014 Marcel Bezençon Awards

Press Award – Given to the best entry as voted on by the accredited media and press during the Eurovision Song Contest: Rise Like A Phoenix sung by Conchita Wurst for Austria. The award was accepted by Kathrin Zechner, Managing Director of the Austrian broadcaster ORF.

Artistic Award – Presented to the best artists as voted on by the commentators: The Common Linnets (Ilse DeLange and Waylon) from the Netherlands.

Composer Award – The best and most original composition as voted on by the participating composers: Calm After The Storm, composed by Ilse DeLange, JB Meijers, Rob Crosby, Matthew Crosby and Jake Etheridge for the Netherlands entry sung by The Common Linnets.

Last year the Press Award went to Nodi Tatishvili & Sophie Gelovani from Georgia with the song Waterfall. The Artistic Award to Farid Mammadov who representied Azerbaijan, and the Composer Award went to Robin Stjernberg, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb and Joakim Harestad Haukaas for the Swedish entryYou.

There are 31 comments

Your comment is very welcome! Those not in line with the Terms of Use of this website will be removed by a moderator, and could lead to blocking your MyEurovision account. Reactions are only allowed in English and French.

Note that it can take a couple of minutes for your comment to appear here, it will appear immediately on your MyEurovision profile page
  • Posted on 14 May 2014 at 00:48
    There is no perfect voting system. The hope was/is that the jurors would pay more attention to technical aspects of the song and would have more limited national prejudices. Just the jury would give songs that weren't popular with the general public. Just the general public might not reward the technically best song, or reward the most popular country penalize an unpopular country. Only other possibility would be secondary awards for People's choice and Juror's choice, but that runs the risk of weakening the grand prize.

    There were many great songs, probably one of the best years, Conchita and The Common Linnetts were both great acts. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 13 May 2014 at 05:43
    Congratulations to the winners. Why are these awards not given out on the stage after the final while we are waiting for the results of the final votes? report to the moderator
  • Posted on 13 May 2014 at 01:27
    Congratulations to the Netherlands, well-deserved win! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 23:21
    Well deserved awards! Two beautiful songs with beautiful lyrics and melodies. Great artists, also. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 20:08
    Ashamed over the host... his english sucks.... report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 18:25
    Great song!!!! Congratulations Netherlands! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 07:12
    Carl, Sanna or for Malta ! report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 04:47
    Clearly the best entry this year. Netherlands would win ESC 4 out of 5 years with this song. Unlucky to cop Conchita. Let's thank the return of the juries for this to be even possible. The CLs only participated because they saw Anouk could do well, and she only participated because of juries. Juries was only ever partly about stopping bloc vote; they were brought back to add diversity and produce songs less reliant on gimmicks. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 12 May 2014 at 01:59
    Really great song and performance by NL, 2nd place is well deserved!

    However, the current voting system is ridiculously rigged; the jury has way too much power over paying voters. (Poland notable example: place 1 with the public vs only place 25 with the jury, resulting in 0 (0!!!) points in at least five or six countries). This is ridiculous. I will not vote again if this system is not changed immediately! Netherlands would still be second after Austria, but this is just too much nonsense!

    To top it off: Armenia, Georgia and usual suspect Azerbeidjan should be banned for life, for rigging the vote. Just look at their votes. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 22:57
    I like The Netherlands song. It makes great background music & I can imagine hearing it in an elevator but I do not consider it the best song in the competition & do not consider it worthy of an originality award. A great song should make demands upon the singer. I want to hear some highs, lows & long notes. Calm After the Storm is not much more than mumbling.  report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 22:29
    You either live in real life and try to change something or live in imaginary world hiding from truth. Be brave to accept the world the way it is report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 22:28
    Nothing political see, though I disagree with some places, this is reality report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 22:27
    Real positions, everything from televoting only, thank you to Holy FREE from Greece
    1 Austria 311
    2 TheNetherlands 222
    3 Armenia 193
    4 Sweden 190
    5 Poland 162
    6 Russia 132
    7 Switzerland 114
    8 Ukraine 112
    9 Romania 103
    10 Hungary 98
    11 Belarus 56
    12 Iceland 46
    13 Denmark 43
    14 Greece 43
    15 Spain 41
    16 Finland 39
    17 Norway 39
    18 Montenegro 33
    19 Italy 32
    20 Germany 31
    21 UnitedKingdom 29
    22 Azerbaijan 26
    23 SanMarino 18
    24 Malta 17
    25 Slovenia 15
    26 France 1 report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 22:11
    I'm very surprised by the comments regarding the jury votes. The fact is, throughout the 2000s, solely having the innately politicised televote made the contest very unfair and it lost all its credibility. Since 2009 it has been gradually improving and this year I believe that most of the countries in the top ten deserved to be there.

    As for the Common Linnets, they will forever be the moral winners of Eurovision 2014 for me. The best song by a mile and this is intended to be a SONG contest after all. report to the moderator
  • Posted on 11 May 2014 at 20:10
    συγχαρητηρια ΥΠΕΡΟΧΟ τραγουδι!!!!!!!!!!- congratulations WONDERFUL song!!!!!! report to the moderator