Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards 2012

Winners of the Marcel Bezençon Awards 2012
Loreen and Christer Björkman Photo: Elke Roels (EBU)
Baku, Azerbaijan -

Apart from taking the grand prize in winning Europe's Favourite TV Show, Loreen and Euphoria also won two other awards, when the annual Marcel Bezençon Awards were handed out in Baku. The awards were presented in a ceremony backstage shortly before the Final, hosted by Christer Björkman, founder of the awards. It wasn't quite a clean sweep of the awards for Sweden, as Sabina Babeyava from Azerbaijan won the Press Award.

The Marcel Bezençon Awards were first handed out during the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest in Tallinn. The awards are named after the creator of the Eurovision Song Contest, Marcel Bezençon.

The 2012 Marcel Bezençon Awards

Press Award – Given to the best entry as voted on by the accredited media and press during the Eurovision Song Contest: Sabina Babayeva from Azerbaijan with When The Music Dies.

Artistic Award – Presented to the best artist as voted on by the commentators: Loreen representing Sweden

Composer Award – The best and most original composition as voted on by the participating composers: Thomas G:son and Peter Boström for Euphoria.

In 2011, the awards were won by Paradise Oskar from Finland who took the Press Award, Jedward from Ireland took the Artistic Award and the Composer Award went to Daniel Moyne, Quentin Bachelet, Jean-Pierre Marcellessi and Julie Miller for the French entry Sognu.


Oleksandr Skichko, Volodymyr Ostapchuk, and Timur Miroshnychenko will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

There are more than 2,000,000 Eurovision Song Contest fans in the online world - join them today and share the moment!

Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | YouTube | Instagram

MyEurovision | VK | Odnoklassniki